Current Reads: A Dance with Dragons

I am currently reading

A Dance with Dragons
A Dance with Dragons
(A Song of Ice and Fire #5)
By: George R.R. Martin
From: My bookshelf

I can’t really tell you much about the plot without spoiling the previous books, so I’ll just say that I recently started reading this. It’s so much easier to read than the previous installment, A Feast for Crows, since this one contains the POV chapters of almost all of my favorite characters! I was planning to wait longer until I read this (since it might be a long wait before the sixth book is published), but I was spoiled of some plot twists a couple of times in the Internet, and I decided to read it before I managed to read even more spoilers!

Last week I read

Last week I finished Gail Carriger’s Etiquette & Espionage, a steampunk YA book about a boarding school for assassins and spies. I enjoyed it, but not as much as her books for adults set in the same universe (the Parasol Protectorate series). I also read Peter and Wendy (or Peter Pan as it’s more widely known), which was a really charming, fun, and thought-provoking children’s book. I liked it a lot more than I’d expected! It’s a quick read, and I definitely recommend it!

Last week I posted

I talked about my Top 5 favorite wizards in Fan Art Friday: Wizards

 

This post is linked at “It’s Monday, what are you reading?”, a weekly meme that tells us what the blogosphere is currently reading. It is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

6 thoughts on “Current Reads: A Dance with Dragons

  1. I enjoyed E&E a lot, but I might have been a little bit bias because of my love for the PP series & characters, and I loved the glimpses of them in E&E. I’ll have to read Peter & Wendy, I never have. I don’t think I’ll ever read Martin’s series. I’ve wanted to read them for years, but now with the tv show, I probably never will. I hope you’ll enjoy it! Happy reading!

    • I absolutely love the PP series & characters as well, but I didn’t enjoy E&E nearly as much. I liked the glimpses into the lives of the characters we know of, but I didn’t love the new characters as much as I do all of the PP characters.

      The first season of Game of Thrones was really good, one of the most faithful book to tv/movie adaptations I’ve ever seen. Then the two start to differ – and I really didn’t enjoy seasons 2 & 3 nearly as much as I did the first season. The books just have a lot more stuff in them, and are a lot better in my opinion. I usually recommend people watch the first season, and then just read the books… The story of the third season really suffered from being cleaved into two seasons, and I’m not a fan of the HBO’s obsession of “must add naked women into every episode”. :D

Leave a comment