#MountTBR: Final Checkpoint

This is my final progress post for the Mount TBR Reading Challenge. I aimed for the Mount Blanc level: reading 24 of my owned TBR books during 2017. That meant reading two books every month, preferably at least one of those from my physical TBR shelf. All of them had to have been bought before 2017.

In December I completed the Mount Blanc challenge by reading 1 final owned TBR book!

Nine Goblins cover
Nine Goblins by T. Kingfisher
147 pages / ebook

When a party of goblin warriors find themselves trapped behind enemy lines, it’ll take more than whining (and a bemused Elven veterinarian) to get them home again.

This was a fun fantasy novella. It took me a while to get used to the goblins and remember who was who, but in the end I was on board their adventures. There was almost a Discworld-esque City Watch vibe with them in places. The elf was also a refreshingly different elf character, and a very Kingfisher-style character at that, what with his gardening and animal caretaking. The main plot was surprisingly dark and poignant. All in all, a nice romp.

3 out of 5 stars


Final Thoughts

I did it! I reached Mount Blanc by reading 24 TBR books that I had already owned before the year 2017! I didn’t quite reach my ratio of half physical and half ebooks: I read 9 physical and 15 ebooks. So while I didn’t make a lot more room on my physical TBR shelf, nine is better than nothing.

Here are all the books I read for the challenge:
The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes The Lost Child of Lychford Forest of Memory BorderlineQueers Destroy Fantasy! The Blue Sword The Grey King Heroine Complex   Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day cover Patternmaster coverNine Goblins

I hope all your 2017 reading challenges were successful, too! I’m not quite sure what challenges I plan to tackle in 2018, but I’m sure I’ll come up with something. Meanwhile, happy New Year!

Leave a comment