2016 Reading Goals & Challenges

During the past two years, I’ve set myself a list of 10 books that I definitely want to read during the coming year, and every time I’ve managed to read about six of them. So this time I’m hoping to fool myself into reading more by making two separate shorter lists.

Top 5 SFF books to read in 2016

The Privilege of the Sword Broken Kingdoms Red Seas Under Red Skies The Golem and the Jinni A Natural History of Dragons
1. The Privilege of the Sword (The World of Riverside #2) by Ellen Kushner
2. The Broken Kingdoms (Inheritance #2) by N.K. Jemisin
3. Red Seas Under Red Skies (Gentleman Bastard #2) by Scott Lynch
4. The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker
5. A Natural History of Dragons (Memoir by Lady Trent #1) by Marie Brennan

These are either authors whose works I enjoyed in 2015, or completely new authors to me whose books just feel like something I would love.

Top 3 Classics to read in 2016

Brideshead Revisited Hangsaman Dracula
1. Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh
2. Hangsaman by Shirley Jackson
3. Dracula by Bram Stoker

I think I read two classics last year, and both of those were modern SFF classics. So, in an effort to finally get to the classics I’ve been planning to read for a long time, I chose three classics from my shelves. I have actually read Dracula many years ago, but I plan to read my gorgeous illustrated edition while listening to the Audible full cast production of it.

TBR Triple Dog Dare

TBR Triple Dog Dare
I was searching for different TBR challenges, and found this dare by James Reads Books.

During the first three months of 2016, you can only read the TBR books you had as of midnight December 31, 2015. It is allowed to include books you had already placed on reserve at the library before this date, and I intend to do so. There are also other exceptions that you’re allowed to make, but I’m only going to use the library one. So, from January 1st to April 1st, I’m only going to be reading books already on my TBR shelf. Which is good, since no more books would fit on it, anyway.

Hercule Poirot in Order

Agatha Christie Logo
I’ll also continue to read Agatha Christie’s Hercule Poirot books in order throughout the year. I’m up to book number nine, Lord Edgware Dies.

These are all my goals for the year 2016. I think they are possible to accomplish, although the TBR Triple Dog Dare might prove to be quite tricky!

2 thoughts on “2016 Reading Goals & Challenges

  1. Fantastic goals! The Golem and the Jinni is one of my favorite books. I hope you enjoy it! And we have something in common — I just got the full-cast audio of Dracula and plan to listen to it soon. I read the book years ago, but it’s time for a re-read! I’m not familiar with Hangsaman, but I’ve been wanting to read more Shirley Jackson, so I’ll check it out. Happy New Year!

    • Oh, that’s good to know! I’ve heard really great things about The Golem and the Jinni. I also have high hopes for the full-cast Dracula. And I don’t know much about Hangsaman myself, I want to go in blind. Happy New Year to you, too!

Leave a Reply

