Current Reads: The Killing Moon

I am currently reading

The Killing Moon
The Killing Moon

(Dreamblood #1)
By: N.K. Jemisin
Genre: High Fantasy
First published in 2012

In the ancient city-state of Gujaareh, peace is the only law. Upon its rooftops and amongst the shadows of its cobbled streets wait the Gatherers – the keepers of this peace. Priests of the dream-goddess, their duty is to harvest the magic of the sleeping mind and use it to heal, soothe – and kill those judged corrupt.

I’m only about 50 pages in, and so far I’m glad that there’s a glossary at the back! There are quite a lot of fantasy terms being thrown around – religious & magical terms, noble family branches – and it’s great to know that if I lose track, I can always check them from the back. The characters that have been introduced so far seem great, and I’m only waiting to find out what the plot is going to be about.

On the non-fantasy front, I’m also reading Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell.

What’s up next

Furies of Calderon
Furies of Calderon by Jim Butcher

2 thoughts on “Current Reads: The Killing Moon

    • That’s great to hear! It seems the plot is going to be about some sort of a conspiracy, exciting! I’ve been meaning to read some Jemisin for a while, so I’m glad I’m finally getting to this.

Leave a Reply

