2015 SFF Reading Challenge

These are the 10 adult SFF books that I’m really excited to get to, and I’m going to try to read them all in 2015. Last year my challenge was about a specific sub-genre, namely high fantasy, but this year I decided to choose books from all over the wide genre. There were so many interesting books that came out last year, but I also listed old books which I’ve been interested in for a while now.

None of these are books that I actually own! ;_; And most of these start another series! Go me!

Maija’s Top 10 Adult SFF Books to Read In 2015

Ancillary Justice The Goblin Emperor A Stranger in Olondria The Mad Ship Swordspoint City of Stairs The Mirror Empire The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms Feed The Magicians

1. Ancillary Justice (Imperial Radch #1) by Ann Leckie – review
2. The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison – review
3. A Stranger in Olondria by Sophia Samatar – review
4. The Mad Ship (Liveship Traders #2) by Robin Hobb – review
5. Swordspoint (Riverside #1) by Ellen Kushner – review
6. City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett
7. The Mirror Empire (Worldbreaker Saga #1) by Kameron Hurley
8. The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms (The Inheritance Trilogy #1) by N.K. Jemisin – review
9. Feed (Newsflesh Trilogy #1) by Mira Grant
10. The Magicians (The Magicians #1) by Lev Grossman

10 thoughts on “2015 SFF Reading Challenge

  1. Great list! I’ve read City of Stairs (loved) and The Mirror Empire (liked) and I’m also dying to read Ancillary Justice. Sounds like a great way to get to all the books you really want to read, by turning it into a challenge. Good luck:-D

  2. Great books there! Love everything by Hobb and The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms is a pretty awesome story as well! The Mirror Empire as well as The Magicians should be on my wishlist and I always wanted to try out something by Ellen Kushner! Too many good books out there.. Have fun with all of them! :)

    • I’ve been meaning to read Ellen Kushner for ages! This year I’m finally doing it.

      I love everything by Hobb, too! I haven’t read the Liveship Traders before, though, so I’m excited. I liked the first book when I read it last year. I’m trying to read this series and the Rainwild Chronicles before getting to the newest book, Fool’s Assassin… but I don’t know, I might just rush into it right after Liveship Traders! I don’t know if I can wait!

  3. Ancillary Justice is high on my priority list for 2015! I just treated myself to a copy (thanks to a holiday gift card), and I’ve been hearing such great things about it. Looks like you’re going to have lots of fun! I may have to read some of these too. :)

  4. What a cool line-up. A lot of those are in my TBR pile, Feed is one of my favorites, and I just read City of Stairs last week and loved it. I would really love to get to Ancillary Justice and The Mirror Empire in 2015, but somehow the order I read books in makes no sense. Have fun with them, and I’m excited to hear what you think!

    • Yes, I already read Ancillary Justice, and it was great! I don’t usually read reviews of books after I’ve made the decision to pick them up, though. I like to go to the book without knowing too much! But I’ll check your review out afterwards, see if I agree with you!

Leave a Reply

