2014 High Fantasy Challenge Wrap-Up

Last year I set myself a High Fantasy Challenge, wherein I chose 10 high fantasy books that I’d been meaning to read for a while. It was straight after an abysmal year of reading only three high fantasy novels. So, how did I do, in the end?

  • I managed to read six and a half books from the list.
  • (One of them turned out not to exactly be high fantasy, but we won’t get into that.)
  • The three books that I didn’t get to were the ones that I was the least excited about.
  • I also read one sequel for a book on the list.

One thing I noticed was that at the end of the year this list started to feel a bit stifling. I really wanted to read the sequel to Ship of Magic, but I felt like I should pick up a book from this list instead. And, because of that, I ended up reading neither.

The books I read (click for reviews)

The Name of the Wind Prince of Thorns The Last Wish Ship of Magic The Last Unicorn The King of Elflands Daughter

I’m in the middle of The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch.

The books I didn’t get to

The Well of Ascension The Blade Itself Furies of Calderon

Books read outside the list

The Wise Man's Fear
The Wise Man’s Fear (The Kingkiller Chronicle #2) by Patrick Rothfuss

I really liked The Name of the Wind, so I had to start reading the sequel right after finishing it! So now I’m caught up with this trilogy, since the final book hasn’t been released yet. I also read three high fantasy short stories – the Tales of Dunk and Egg by George R.R. Martin.

So, that is 7,5 high fantasy novels & 3 short stories read in the year 2014. I think that is a good, but not great, step up from the three of 2013.

5 thoughts on “2014 High Fantasy Challenge Wrap-Up

  1. It’s a great list and you did really well! I would quite like to read the Unicorn book – did you enjoy it? Sorry, must have missed your review. The Rothfuss books are so good aren’t they! Unfortunately it doesn’t look like No.3 will be out this year but I suppose patience is a virtue. I’ve read the 3 Mistborn books – they’re good but I definitely prefer Way of Kings and Words of Radiance by Sanderson. That being said I think Mistborn is probably quite a good starting place if you haven’t read any of his works??
    Lynn :D

    • I gave The Last Unicorn 3 stars. The writing was very nice, fairytale-ish. I liked it more during the first half, but it was at that point that I also put it down for a little while, so it might have been just the pause at fault for me not liking the second half as much. I still think it was a worthwhile read! (The covers of the books actually take you to the reviews, btw.)

      I’ve read the first Mistborn book many years ago, but wasn’t so psyched about it that I was eager to read the second. I actually managed to borrow it from the library in 2014, but didn’t really start reading it before it was due back… I did manage to read like the first chapter, and I think it started more promisingly than the first. The first, I thought, dragged until the halfway mark.

      • I think the second Mistborn book has some boring parts as well (although I still loved it ;-) ) The third is the best of the trilogy, it just blew my mind – i hope you’ll get to that as well! Mark Lawrence has been on my wishlist for ages. I should really get to that!
        I read The Furies of Calderon as well a few years ago and thought it was alright. Never read the second part though.
        I hated The Blade Itself and didn’t even finish it. Though the style of writing was horrible and the characters very boring and annoying :D

      • Sadly I really didn’t care for the Mark Lawrence book. I still gave it 2 stars instead of 1, though.It does get often compared to The Blade Itself, I don’t know if it’s just because of the genre. (But I did find the characters annoying in Prince of Thorns – well, the main character, the rest didn’t even get much characterization.)

        I noticed that someone on GR, who had given the first book two stars with the same reasoning as me, had given the second book four stars… So there might still be hope. Continuing the series isn’t a priority in any way, though.
        Thanks for telling me what you thought about the books!

Leave a Reply

