My Winter Reading List (2014-2015)

Here are the books that I’m planning to read this winter. Some of these are set in winter, or just remind me of winter, but most have nothing to do with it. For some reason, when it gets cold, I mostly gravitate towards children’s literature. I don’t know why! Perhaps the approaching Christmas reminds me of my childhood? Who knows!

This post is linked at “Top Ten Tuesday”, a weekly book list meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish. All the links take you to Goodreads.

Maija’s Top 10 Books from Winter TBR Pile

WinterTBR_1
1. The Iron Trial (Magisterium #1) by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare
I will read anything that Holly Black writes, so I’m looking forward to reading this magical school fantasy. I think I’m going to buy this as a birthday gift for myself.

2. The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black
Also written by Holly Black, so a must read. This new release comes out on January 13th.

3. The Dark is Rising (The Dark is Rising #2) by Susan Cooper
The second book in the Dark is Rising series begins at winter solstice, so it is a perfect winter read. It is also about time that I continue with this series!

WinterTBR_2

4. The Mad Ship (The Liveship Traders #2) by Robin Hobb
I want to continue on with this fantasy series and find out what happens to Wintrow, Althea, and Paragon!

5. The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell
Another potential birthday gift for myself. Neil Gaiman’s twist on the Sleeping Beauty tale is something I’d really like to read.

6. Ancillary Justice (Imperial Radch, #1) by Ann Leckie
I finally want to start this Hugo award winning series!

WinterTBR_3

7. Foxglove Summer (Peter Grant #5) by Ben Aaronovitch
This is a quite new release, and I’m anxiously waiting for it from the library. If it takes too long, I might just cave and buy it as an ebook, even though I don’t own the other books in the series! I just really want to know what happens after book four!

8. Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos (Theodosia Throckmorton, #1) by R.L. LaFevers
I just bought this children’s book about museums and cursed artifacts, and I really want to get to it.

9. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
I’ve never read this Christmas classic, only seen adaptations of it. Might tackle it on Christmas day.

10. Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke
I really, really want to reread this book, and for some reason I associate it with winter. Perhaps because of its length? Big books always feel like winter reads to me – something to curl up with on the sofa. Let’s see if I manage to get to it!

What’s on your Winter TBR list? Are there some books that you’ve been meaning to read for the longest time, or are most of them new releases?

22 thoughts on “My Winter Reading List (2014-2015)

  1. I also have The Darkest Part of the Forest on my list. I think that’s great that you read lots of YA at Christmastime! It totally makes sense:-)

  2. Nice list :) I really enjoyed Ancillary Justice, hopefully the sequel is as good. The Mad Ship has been eyeing me for some time and I didn’t put it in my winter to be read but will put it to 2015 TBR pile mountain challenge. :)

    • Yes, The Mad Ship has kept prodding me to read it, but I’ve always been in the middle of other books. I should just drop everything and get to it, since I do really want to read it.

  3. Your post has such a lot of beautiful books! *wants*
    I also love Holly Black and will definitely be picking up The Darkest Part of the Forest. Unfortunately Ancillary Justice just didn’t do it for me which was something of a surprise because it’s been so popular!
    Lynn :D

    • I know, The Iron Trial and the new edition of The Dark is Rising look so pretty there together, right? The colors match!

      I know a couple of people who have absolutely loved Ancillary Justice, and then a few who have been a bit ‘meh’ about it. I’m curious to see what I think about it!

  4. Nice picks! The books you mentioned didn’t make my TTT list this week, but many of them are on my TBR spreadsheet. I’m especially eager to read stories like The Iron Trial, The Darkest Part of the Forest, and Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos. And A Christmas Carol on Christmas would be perfectly-suited for the occasion! Enjoy your winter reads:)

    Claire @ Bookworm Reviews

  5. I really want to start that Peter Grant series! Ooo and a Neil Gaiman fairytale retelling – sounds good to me! I also need to read Ancillary Justice, Darkest Part of the Forest, some Robin Hobb (I’m so ashamed I haven’t read any yet!!) – I read Iron Trial and I wasn’t all that enthused about it.

    • The Peter Grant series is very good, and I actually liked the plot in the first book the best, so definitely go for it! I’ve seen a couple of pictures of the illustrations in that Neil Gaiman book, and it looks so gorgeous! And definitely get into Robin Hobb – start with the Farseer trilogy.
      Oh, that’s sad about the Iron Trial. I like Holly Black, but am more ambivalent about Cassandra Clare. Her books never completely manage to pull me in.

      • I haven’t read any Cassandra Clare yet – none of them have screamed at me to pick them up yet. I really have enjoyed everything of Holly’s I’ve read except not so much The Iron Trial – I think I gave it a 3 star? It was enjoyable but not something I’d choose to continue…which is so funny because I used to be such a completionist.

        I might start The Darkest Part of the Forest anytime soon but since its a January read I might have to force myself to wait since I have other books that are already past due needing to be read.

        Oooo illustrations – I love love

  6. New Gaiman is always a great thing. Clarke’s book is one of my favorites. Slow moving but never boring, it just does it right. Ancillary Justice? Ya, I kinda dug it =)

  7. I love that Robin Hobb is on your list – the Liveship Trader series is the first of her works that I read and never regretted it ;)
    The book by Gaiman sounds interesting as well, might put it on my wishlist :)

    • This is my first time reading the Liveship Traders – I’ve read the Farseer Trilogy (twice) and the Tawny Man trilogy from her. I liked the first Liveship book, although everything was just getting started & set up, and I guess more will happen in the next books.

  8. I really want to read The Darkest Part of the Forest! And I just finally treated myself to a copy of Ancillary Justice, which hasn’t arrived yet — but I can’t wait. This is such a great list… I need to go add a bunch of these to my Goodreads “want” shelf right now. Have fun with your winter reading!

Leave a Reply

