November TBR (2014)

My TBR shelf is currently overflowing, so in a desperate attempt to contain it, I’m only going to read books that I already own for November. No library books, no books from friends, and definitely not any new bought books! Here are the books that I’m hoping to tackle.
(The book covers take you to Goodreads.)

The Child Thief The Lies of Locke Lamora Leviathan Wakes The Killing Moon
The Child Thief by Brom
The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastard #1) by Scott Lynch
Leviathan Wakes (Expanse #1) by James S.A. Corey
The Killing Moon (Dreamblood #1) by N.K. Jemisin

Out of these, I’m most excited for my High Fantasy Challenge book that I challenged myself to read this year: The Lies of Locke Lamora. I’ve been wanting to start this series for such a long time, and I already own all the books out in the series so far. That’s a first for me; usually I don’t buy more books until I’ve read the first book in the series and know that I like it. I don’t know why I went with a different tactic with this series – except that it’s high fantasy with thieves and it’s calling my name!

I’m trying to read The Child Thief for this month’s Fairytale Retelling -themed #AYearAThon. The event is this week, from Nov 3rd to the 9th, and things aren’t looking good! I’ve only read the prologue so far! I think it wasn’t the greatest idea to pick this book, since I just finished reading NOS4R2 by Joe Hill, and both of the books are dark books with child kidnappings. A change of theme would have been a nice breather. But since this was the only fairytale retelling that I already own, I chose it. Let’s see if I can get into it!

The rest of the books are series or authors that I’ve been wanting to try for a while. I actually know more about The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin, but The Killing Moon was on sale and gave me a good initiative to try the author out.

What are you reading this week or month?

8 thoughts on “November TBR (2014)

  1. I have a copy of The Child Thief, but haven’t got around to reading it yet. And oh yes, The Lies of Locke Lamora! I’m dying to get started on that series. Hope you have a wonderful month!

    Here’s my November.

    • Yes, I’ve owned The Child Thief for an embarrassingly long time. And I bought Locke Lamora a bit over a year ago! I should read more of my own books, less library books. And thanks!

  2. I would happily read any of these! I’ve also had The Child Thief and Lock Lamora on my shelf for a really long time, and just never seem to get to them. And I know I should read the others too. Good luck! I have the hardest time sticking to my reading plans lately — there’s always something else that comes along!

  3. I have been wanting to read a child theif for the longest, but my TBR pile is out of control as usual, so its a someday book. I hope you enjoy it!! Im not into as much high fantasy as I want to be, but definitely want to read more in the genre Thanks for checking out the blog!!

    • I’ve been having a slow reading month – I only got about a 100 pages into The Child Thief before I paused. It’s definitely been a month of starting all the books and finishing nothing!

  4. I like your choices! The Lies of Locke Lamora is one of my favourite books and definitely fun to read – am waiting for the fourth book of the series right now.
    The books by Jemisin are always worth a try as well :) Loved The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms! I did not like the sequel that much but would still give The Killing Moon a chance as it sounds not too bad :)

    At the moment I am reading The Stand by Stephen King and a dystopian anthology. Don’t know why I feel like end-of-the-world stuff right now :D

    • I’m in the middle of a lot of books right now, can’t seem to focus. I’ve read 170 pages of Locke Lamora so far. I definitely want to try The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms sometime!

      Someone else also had a list full of dark, gloomy, dystopian stuff for their winter reads! :D Great holiday spirit.

Leave a Reply

