Current Reads: The Gunslinger

This post is linked at “WWW Wednesdays”, a weekly reading meme hosted by Should Be Reading. As usual, the book covers in this post link to GoodReads.

I am currently reading


The Gunslinger
The Gunslinger

(The Dark Tower #1)
By: Stephen King
Genre: Horror-fantasy-western
First published in 1982

In The Gunslinger, Stephen King introduces readers to one of his most enigmatic heroes, Roland of Gilead, the Last Gunslinger. He is a haunting figure, a loner, on a spellbinding journey into good and evil, in a desolate world which frighteningly mirrors our own.

I am reading this book for the Stephen King/Horror theme week over at the #AYearaThon GR group. So far it hasn’t quite been my cup of tea. There have been some sentences regarding women that I’ve rolled my eyes at. Stephen King isn’t one of my favourite authors – I don’t dislike his books, but I don’t particularly like them, either. My sister said that one of the books – I think it was the third – had some really scary stuff in it, so I wanted to check the series out.

I am also reading The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black, and The King in Yellow by Robert W. Chambers.

Recently I Finished


The King of Elflands Daughter The Call of Cthulhu
The King of Elfland’s Daughter by Lord Dunsany – 3/5 stars
The Call of Cthulhu by H.P. Lovecraft – 4.5/5 stars

What is up next


The Causal Angel NOS4R2 Something Wicked This Way Comes
The Causal Angel (Jean le Flambeur #3) by Hannu Rajaniemi
NOS4R2 by Joe Hill
Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury

I will be choosing from these three books. Either I’ll continue my October Spooky Reads challenge, or throw a science fiction book into the mix.

8 thoughts on “Current Reads: The Gunslinger

  1. I’m intrigued to see what you think about The Coldest Girl in Coldtown – I loved it. I’m actually going to re-blog my review of it tomorrow as part of my Horror October schedule :)

    • I really like it so far, at least all the Tana bits! I don’t really care for the flashbacks of Gavriel’s past that keep interrupting her story. I’m just, like, get back to the modern day already! :)

      • I like the modern day parts, and Gavriel in those, but I think the flashbacks just read more like generic vampire stuff that’s been around for ages, than the brilliant modern day stuff that Black writes.

        Not to say that I don’t like the book, I just could do without the flashbacks. Give Gavriel more mystery. :)

  2. I have a copy of Gunslinger but have never actually read it. I despise King’s horror books and only hold on to to this one because the premise is so damn interesting.

    • There’s this weird oppressive/depressive undercurrent in his books that I can’t seem to get over. I also don’t usually like his characters, or the dwelling on the everyday cruelties that they commit.

Leave a Reply

