The Last Unicorn Review (2014 High Fantasy Challenge 5/10)

The Last Unicorn
The Last Unicorn

By: Peter S. Beagle
First published in 1968
Book 5/10 of my 2014 High Fantasy Challenge

A unicorn leans that she might be the last of her kind left in the world, and leaves her forest to find out what happened to the others.


I’ve been having a hard time writing this review, so I guess it will be a short one. I started reading the book in the beginning of August, then paused for a week or so while I took part in a read-a-thon. That pause definitely took me out of the world a bit. Also, the place where I paused in the book marked a big shift in the story. While in the first half of the book, the narrator had mostly been the unicorn, in the second half the narrating duties were left more to her human companions. And I wasn’t as interested or enchanted by the magician Schmendrick’s or the believer Molly Grue’s points of view as I was in the unicorn’s. I understand why, in that part of the book, we could no longer spend as much time in the unicorn’s head, but I still missed it.

One thing I have to say about this book is that the writing is gorgeous. It is absolutely enchanting, and evokes this feeling of being inside a fairytale. I bet this book would sound just lovely when read aloud. That sense of magic is most prevalent with the unicorn as the POV character.

Unlike perhaps many of you, I didn’t see the animated movie when I was a kid. I’ve only seen the movie once as an adult, so I didn’t have that lovely sense of childhood nostalgia at the back of my head when I was reading it. The main reason that my rating isn’t higher is probably still because of that pause in the middle, and so is mostly my own fault.

3 out of 5 stars.


Next up in the challenge
I’m officially halfway through the challenge now! So, I’m a bit behind, since I only have three months left. I am currently half-way through The King of Elfland’s Daughter by Lord Dunsany, and hope to finish it soon.

Leave a Reply

