Top 10 Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From

Here is a list of authors from whom I’ve only read one book, but am excited to try more of their works.
I mention:
1) what I’ve read from the author,
2) why I loved that book, and
3) what book I would like to read from them next.

Some of these authors were also mentioned in an older post, Top 10 New-To-Me Authors I Read in 2013.

This post is linked at “Top Ten Tuesday”, a weekly book list meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish. All the links below take you to GoodReads.

Maija’s Top 10 Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From, and Need to Read More

Throne of the Crescent Moon A Room with a View

1. Saladin Ahmed
Read: Throne of the Crescent Moon
Loved: The fun, old-school adventure fantasy feel
To Read: Engraved on the Eye, a short story collection

2. E. M. Forster
Read: A Room with a View
Loved: Everything about it: the characters, the plot, the romance…
To Read: Maurice

3. Raymond E. Feist
Read: The Magician
Loved: It’s been a while since I read this, I just remember I liked it – perhaps the main character & the magic?
To Read: The Riftwar Saga

4. Oscar Wilde
Read: The Picture of Dorian Gray
Loved: The lush descriptions, that air of decadence, the heavy themes, the snarky dialogue, Basil
To Read: The Importance of Being Earnest

5. Catherynne M. Valente
Read: The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making
Loved: The fairy-tale like narrative voice
To Read: The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There

Rebecca All These Things I've Done

6. Jonathan Maberry
Read: Rot & Ruin
Loved: The characters, the zombie apocalypse, the questions raised about humanity
To Read: Dust & Decay

7. Rainbow Rowell
Read: Attachments
Loved: I actually didn’t really like this book, but I want to give her YA fiction a try
To Read: Fangirl

8. Victor Hugo
Read: The Hunchback of Notre Dame
Loved: The question of morals, of good and evil, prevalent in all the characters, masterfully done in Frollo
To Read: Les Misérables

9. Daphne du Maurier
Read: Rebecca
Loved: The atmosphere was off the charts, loved the writing style!
To Read: Jamaica Inn

10. Gabrielle Zevin
Read: All These Things I’ve Done
Loved: The cold & guarded main character, that read-in-one-sitting fast-paced quality
To Read: Because It Is My Blood

14 thoughts on “Top 10 Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From

  1. I definitely need to read more Daphne du Maurier as well. I have a small collection :) including a book of her short stories (with the story THE BIRDS is based on) and JAMAICA INN.

    I also need to read Saladin Ahmed. I hear nothing but great things about him from some of the biggest fantasy fans out there.

    • Thanks! I should have listed Six-Gun Snow White as my next read from Valente, since I own the e-book and want to to try out her adult writing. It’s interesting to learn how her writing differs.

  2. Oh, I want to read Jamaica Inn as well! I just reread Rebecca this year, and loved it all over again. If you like Gabrielle Zevin, I’d recommend her newest adult book, The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry. I also liked her YA novel, Elsewhere. I really like how you organized your list this week — great idea!

  3. I’ve only read Catherynne M. Valente’s short stories, and I’m dying to give her novels a try. And I loved Rebecca too! I love that you have so many classics on your list:-)

Leave a Reply

