Current Reads: Classics (#AYearAThon July)

The theme for this week is Classics over at the #AYearAThon, and so I picked up the two classics I own but haven’t read from my physical TBR shelf.

This post is linked at “WWW Wednesdays”, a weekly reading meme hosted by Should Be Reading. As usual, the book covers in this post link to GoodReads.

I recently finished


Brave New World
Brave New World

By: Aldous Huxley
Genre: Dystopian classic
First published in 1932

Far in the future, the World Controllers have created the ideal society. Through clever use of genetic engineering, brainwashing, and recreational sex and drugs, all its members are happy consumers.

I just finished the book this morning. It was interesting, but I didn’t much care for the main plot elements. The ideas & concepts were clearly the carrying force of the novel. The authors foreword (better to be read after finishing the novel), written in 1946, was also very interesting. There were a couple of things in the book’s future that seemed funny and endearing in our modern day, like a large government facility storing all their information in “eighty-eight cubic meters of card-index”.

What is up next


Rebecca
Rebecca

By: Daphne du Maurier
Genre: Gothic literature classic
First published in 1938

Last night I dreamed I went to Manderley again…

Rebecca was the other classic sitting unread on my shelves, so that is what is next on line. I will start it today. I know absolute nothing of it apart from it being a gothic romance/mystery, and I like it that way! I want to be surprised.

Other possible reads


These are the classics & modern classics I have currently on loan from the library. If I have time left this week, I’ll choose from one of these.
The Murder of Roger Ackroyd A Wizard of Earthsea Hamlet Cat's Cradle
The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie
A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin (reread)
Hamlet by William Shakespeare
Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut

I will be very happy if I manage to knock those two books out of my overflowing physical TBR shelf! The library books are just a nice bonus if I get to that. Can you recommend which one of them I should read first? Happy reading, everyone!

6 thoughts on “Current Reads: Classics (#AYearAThon July)

    • I love Poirot especially! I used to watch the TV series as a kid. I’ve read some Poirot novels here and there, but now I decided to read all of the Poirot books in publication order. So far it’s been really fun!

      I’ve also read And Then There Were None by Christie. It’s definitely awesome.

  1. I read Rebecca (more than once) a few years ago and loved it (obviously if I read it more than once! DOH! I am the master of stating the obvious). I hope you enjoy it, I have no idea how it would stand up if I read it now!
    Lynn :D

Leave a Reply

