The Best Books of 2014 So Far

It’s time to take a look back at my favorite reads so far this year, divided into a couple subcategories. You can see my 2013 list here.

This post is linked at “Top Ten Tuesday”, a weekly book list meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish. The cover images take you to GoodReads.

Favorite Fantasy Books

The Name of the Wind Whispers Under Ground
The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle #1) by Patrick Rothfuss
A great fantasy story that has it all: a legendary hero, a coming of age story, and a magic school. It made me at turns excited, sad, and laugh out loud. The best book I’ve read so far this year.

Whispers Under Ground (Peter Grant #3) by Ben Aaronovitch
Yep, the first book, Rivers of London, was on last year’s list. I still love Peter Grant, and all the other characters in this series!

Favorite YA novels

All These Things I've Done The Summer Prince
All These Things I’ve Done (Birthright #1) by Gabrielle Zevin
I breezed through this futuristic crime story in one day. Anya was a great main character – not everyone will like her, but I really did.

The Summer Prince by Alaya Dawn Johnson
I loved the atmospheric writing in this book, and liked the focus on art performances.

Favorite Re-Reads

Velho ja Leijona Shades of Milk and Honey_bigger

The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe (The Chronicles of Narnia (Publication Order) #1) by C.S. Lewis
I was in a nostalgic mood, and read the first Narnia book in Finnish, the language that my mother first read these to me. Now I want some Turkish delights (although they were translated simply as a box of chocolates in this book, I always think of the BBC adaptation’s box of Turkish delights when I read this.)

Shades of Milk and Honey (Glamourist Histories #1) by Mary Robinette Kowal
A fun magical Regency fantasy of manners novel. A quick, fun, if a bit predictable read.

Favorite Graphic Novels

Young Avengers Vol. 1 Yotsuba Vol. 12
Young Avengers, Vol. 1: Style > Substance by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie & Mike Norton
This was so much fun! I definitely want to read the rest of the run from these creators.

Yotsuba&! Vol. 12 by Kiyohiko Azuma
Yes, Yotsuba makes it to the list again. I can’t fight it! She’s adorable! I love her enmity with Yanda, it always makes me laugh.

2 thoughts on “The Best Books of 2014 So Far

  1. Great list, you know I just simply ADORE the Peter Grant books. Both Rivers of London and Moon Over Soho have made my past top of the year lists :D

Leave a Reply

