Favourite Book Friendships

Today I’m going to take a look at some of my favourite friendships depicted in books and graphic novels. This was surprisingly tough, I was amazed that I couldn’t rattle off tons of awesome friendships at the drop of a hat!

This post is linked at “Top Ten Tuesday”, a weekly book list meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish. All the links below take you to GoodReads.

Maija’s Top 6 favourite friendships in books

Top 5 Friendships

1. The Mabudachi Trio
From the Fruits Basket manga series by Natsuki Takaya
Shigure, Ayame and Hatori Sohma form the Mabudachi trio. They have been friends ever since they were little. I just love the dynamics between the outrageous Ayame, wicked Shigure, and serious Hatori. I have a soft spot for friendships among the older characters in stories, not necessarily the main characters.

2. Courtney & Aloysius Crumrin (pictured)
From the Courtney Crumrin graphic novels, by Ted Naifeh
Courtney is a pessimistic young girl, Aloysius her warlock uncle, and together they are badasses. Courtney gets introduced to magic through Aloysius, and then there’s no stopping them. And look, this is already the second friendship among relatives on my list.

3. The Marauders
From the Harry Potter series, by J.K. Rowling
And now we’re back to friendships among older characters than the main characters – James, Sirius, Remus and Peter! I love the Marauders flashbacks in the series, and I especially love Sirius & Remus together.

4. Fitz and the Fool
From the Farseer and the Tawny Man trilogies, by Robin Hobb
Theirs is a bit of a bittersweet friendship, but I can’t help but love them. The Fool is one of my favourite characters ever, and while Fitz does occasionally get on my nerves, I do love their dynamic.

5. Harry Dresden & Karrin Murphy
From the Dresden Files, by Jim Butcher
Wizard Harry Dresden and Lieutenant Karrin Murphy are a power duo when it comes to stopping magical crimes. There are bumps on their road even after Dresden has gained Murphy’s trust, but I do like to follow them solving cases together.

6. The Three Musketeers & d’Artagnan
From The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas
Athos, Porthos, Aramis, and d’Artagnan are some lovable, often broke, idiots, and it’s so much fun to follow their antics.

12 thoughts on “Favourite Book Friendships

  1. Hah, the Musketeers is a good one!
    I thought about Harry Dresden and Bob but then changed my mind at the last minute and added Oberon and Atticus.
    I’d not heard of the Marauders before – nice choice and now on the radar.
    Lynn :D

    • Hah, yeah, the Musketeers, they are something alright!

      Harry and Bob, yes, that is a great weird friendship. I also thought about Harry and Butters, but then I thought perhaps Butters hasn’t been in enough books…

    • I think they often slip from people’s minds! But yeah, their friendship is strong.

      I often tend to put the same books/characters on my lists, because I end up looking at my bookshelf and choosing from the books I own, forgetting others that I’ve read. Perhaps that happens with other people, too!

  2. I love the Marauders! They’re all so tragic in their own ways, but such wonderful friends. And I adore the friendship between Harry and Karrin Murphy. Nice choices!

Leave a Reply

