Current Reads: #AYearAThon May

It is time for this month’s #AYearAThon, and the theme is Finish/Catch Up on a Series. #AYearAthon takes place every month and lasts for one week, with a different set theme for each month. You can learn more here, and join the GoodReads group here. As usual, the book covers in this post link to GoodReads.

This post is linked at “It’s Monday, what are you reading?”, a weekly meme that tells us what the blogosphere is currently reading. It is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

#AYearAThon Reads

The Hedge Knight The Sworn Sword The Mystery Knight Glamour in Glass

The Hedge Knight, The Sworn Sword and The Mystery Knight (The Tales of Dunk and Egg #1-3), by George R.R. Martin
Glamour in Glass (Glamourist Histories #2) by Mary Robinette Kowal

I will start the read-a-thon by reading through George R.R. Martin’s Dunk and Egg novellas, which take place in the A Song of Ice and Fire universe, but earlier in the history of the Seven Kingdoms. I have to return these to the library tomorrow, so I really need to get to them! After, I will move on to Glamour in Glass – I re-read the first book, Shades of Milk and Honey, during last month’s #AYearAThon’s re-read theme. I’m not actually catching up with the series, since there are two more already out, but this is to get me to read the one I have owned for a while.

Other Reads

Clockwork Angel The Last Wish

Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1) by Cassanda Clare
The Last Wish (Witcher #1) by Andrzej Sapkowski

I have a lot of other books I should read soon, too! I’ve had Clockwork Angel on loan from a friend for a while now, and I should really finish it and get it back to her. Also, the Scifi and Fantasy Book Club at GoodReads is reading The Last Wish this month, and since it is one of the books on my 2014 High Fantasy TBR list, I want to read it alongside them. So I should at least get started with it this week!

That is a lot of reading to be done, wish me luck!

8 thoughts on “Current Reads: #AYearAThon May

  1. Good luck with your reading plans. I am really bad at finishing series. I can’t count the number of series for which I have read the first book and have the rest sitting on my TBR mountain. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

    • Oh yes, I have tons of series unfinished, too. For some reason I just don’t stress about it that much? I guess it’s good, since I usually stress about everything. :D

  2. The Dunk and Egg stories were pretty good , I thought. Nice to see an earlier glimpse at the Game of Thrones world. I should probably re read them at some point, I don’t remember a lot.

  3. I just had to add The Last Wish to my Never-Ending wish list and it sounds amazing :D
    I really want to start the “Game Of Thrones” but I want to wait until Im ahead of My goodreads goal/ Plus I remind myself that there plenty of time since hes not done with the series yet Lol
    Thank you for participating in the #AYEARATHON and good luck with your goal :D

    • I learned that The Witcher fantasy series is really popular in Poland, and the American computer games that are based on it are quite popular, too. From what I’ve heard, this first book has linked short stories that use fairy tale themes, but there are more books in the series that are actual novels – I mean, one long story instead of a short story collection.

      And yes, there’s plenty of time to wait for Martin’s series to be completed!

Leave a Reply

