Current Reads & #AYearAThon April Wrap-Up

This post is linked at “It’s Monday, what are you reading?”, a weekly meme that tells us what the blogosphere is currently reading. It is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey. The links in the cover images take you to GoodReads.

So, April’s #AYearAThon is now over. The theme was rereads, and I managed to read 394 pages of The Three Musketeers, as well the whole Shades of Milk and Honey, which was 302 pages. That means that I read 696 pages during the re-read-a-thon. Not bad, but I had hoped to read a bit more Musketeers.

I am currently reading

The Three Musketeers
The Three Musketeers
By: Alexandre Dumas
Genre: Historical adventure classic
First published in 1844

One of the most celebrated and popular historical romances ever written. The Three Musketeers tells the story of the early adventures of the young Gascon gentleman d’Artagnan and his three friends from the regiment of the King’s Musketeers – Athos, Porthos and Aramis.

I’m continuing my reread of the Three Musketeers. It is just as much fun as I remembered! Easy to read, rollicking adventure, mixed in with some sillier little skirmishes. I especially love d’Artagnan’s volatile temperament and Aramis’ focus on his looks. It is also very quick to read, for many pages are filled with dialogue only.

Some of the things the musketeers do aren’t so moral (like beating their servants), I either didn’t remember then or didn’t notice these things when I was younger!

2 thoughts on “Current Reads & #AYearAThon April Wrap-Up

  1. It’s funny how we notice things as adults that fly right over our heads as kids! I’ve never read Dumas but would like to read this one- would be nice to read the original after having experienced movie versions and remakes over the years. Sounds like lot of fun!

    • Yes, this is def a good read – it has adventure and scheming, but also good humour. The musketeers are a lot greyer characters than in any movies – I mean, they do heroic things, but they all have their weaknesses as well. I like that.

Leave a Reply

