Current Reads: Prince of Thorns

This post is linked at “WWW Wednesdays”, a weekly reading meme hosted by Should Be Reading. All the links take you to GoodReads.

I am currently reading

Prince of Thorns
Prince of Thorns

(The Broken Empire #1)
By: Mark Lawrence
Genre: Grimdark high fantasy
First published in 2011

I just started reading this book; I’ve actually only read the first chapter. I have to say this is the grimdarkest fantasy I’ve ever picked up, with very morally reprehensible, violent things happening right at the beginning. Yet I still want to read this. Why? Because Robin Hobb gave this 5 out of 5 stars. That’s a pretty big recommendation right there. There’s also a blurb from her on the cover of the book. This is what she said in her GoodReads review:

I had to grit my teeth several times to get through this, and more than once I wondered, “Why was this recommended to me?” Then the pieces began to fall into place. Not a tale for the faint of heart, but well worth it to prevail. Trust me.

So I will trust her, and believe that all this is going somewhere.


I recently finished

City of Glass Mr Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore
City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments #3) by Cassandra Clare
Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan


What might be next

The Summer Prince
The Summer Prince by Alaya Dawn Johnson

I have borrowed this from the library and should get to it soon. I loved the author’s short story in the Zombies Vs. Unicorns anthology, which is why I picked this one up.

Leave a Reply

