Current Reads: Redshirts

This post is linked at “It’s Monday, what are you reading?”, a weekly meme that tells us what the blogosphere is currently reading. It is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey. The links in the cover images take you to GoodReads.

I am currently reading

Redshirts
Redshirts
By: John Scalzi
Genre: Science fiction comedy
First published in 2012

Ensign Andrew Dahl has just been assigned to the Universal Union Capital Ship Intrepid. It’s a prestige posting, and life couldn’t be better… although there are a few strange things going on…

  • every Away Mission involves lethal confrontation with alien forces
  • the ship’s captain, its chief science officer and the handsome Lieutanant Kerensky always survive those encounters
  • at least one low-ranked member is, sadly, always killed

I’m taking a break from the 1000 page mammoth that is The Wise Man’s Fear, and reading something lighter.

Last year I watched Star Trek: The Original Series for the first time, so when I started seeing this book around, I thought it would be a perfect match for me at this particular time. I’m about halfway through, and have laughed aloud a couple of times, so it’s definitely entertaining! The prologue almost turned me off, since I found the writing to be a bit underlining and simple, but after the prologue I did get more into the book. It’s definitely less character-driven than what I usually read, the main emphasis is on the parody, but it works.

Last week I finished reading

Punainen kuin veri
Punainen kuin veri by Sanna Simukka
(to be published in English as As Red As Blood)

This Finnish YA crime thriller was ok, but a bit too young for me. I also read a couple more volumes of Y: The Last Man, which I’m not loving as much as other people seem to, but am still intrigued enough to read the rest.

2 thoughts on “Current Reads: Redshirts

  1. I’ve seen this book around but never really stopped to look at it. It is kinda funny since the joke always was the security guys get killed. I might have to give this one a try, it sounds fun. Glad you’re liking it!

Leave a Reply

