January Book Haul (2014)

Last month I bought one book for myself, two for my boyfriend, and one for my sister. I will still end up reading them all, so here they are! All the links take you to GoodReads.

Own Haul

2014 January Book Haul 1
Hangsaman by Shirley Jackson

I really like Jackson’s writing style, so I bought a novel of hers that our library doesn’t carry. I actually have no idea what this book is about, but I like it that way sometimes. And see how beautifully it matches with the crocheted bookmark that my friend made me for Christmas! (The bookmark has a cute skull on the other end, perhaps I’ll show it one day.)

Gift Books

2014 January Book Haul 2
Steelheart (Reckoners #1) by Brandon Sanderson
Vicious by V.E. Schwab
A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway

A Moveable Feast I bought two superhero books for my boyfriend, and since they are in our shelf and I’m intrigued, I will read them some time or another. I happen to like the other cover of Vicious a bit better, but this one was cheaper. I also ended up ordering A Moveable Feast, a memoir about Hemingway’s time in Paris in the 1920s with other famous authors, because my sister loves the movie Midnight in Paris. I already gifted it to her (after reading it).

E-books

2014 January Book Haul 3
Warm Up (a Vicious short story) by V.E. Schwab
The Sign of the Four (Sherlock Holmes #2) by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Brontë
The Woman in White and The Haunted Hotel by Wilkie Collins

I downloaded some free Kindle classics, as well as bought a short story taking place in the same world as Vicious for a couple of dollars. I think downloading free classics is a good way to satisfy my book buying urges without spending any money or taking up any shelf space.

This haul is linked at the weekly haul memes Stacking the Shelves, hosted by Tynga’s Reviews, and Showcase Sunday, hosted by Books, Biscuits, and Tea.

Leave a Reply

