Musketeers & Usurpers – Bookish trailer madness

Dudes! You might know that The Three Musketeers is one of my favourite books, and that my Kindle is named Richelieu. Well, even if you didn’t, you do now.

The reason for this burst of seemingly random knowledge about me is the fact that The Musketeers, a new BBC series, is premiering this Sunday (Jan 19th) on BBC One! It will also premiere on BBC America sometime this spring, for you people in the U.S. I’m hoping that the series stays truer to the original story than the most recent movie adaptations. So far, I like the casting – especially Porthos (Howard Charles), Aramis (Santiago Cabrera), and Richelieu (Peter Capaldi).

Have a look at the trailer!


I’m also really stoked on the new Game of Thrones trailer (who isn’t?)! It’s been a long wait for a glimpse of the new season, and now we finally have it along with the season 4 premiere air date (April 6th). It feels like such a long time to wait, but seeing the trailer helps a bit. Even though I know that I will be complaining about stuff they changed from the books, like I did with earlier seasons, I do enjoy the show a lot. Words can’t explain how happy I am that we finally have a good high fantasy series on TV!

Game of Thrones has also been posting lovely animated gifs of the trailer on their Vine account. But watch out, both the Youtube and the Vine comments are dark and full of spoilers. I wouldn’t suggest going to the Vine account at all if you haven’t read the books.

So, how excited are you?

5 thoughts on “Musketeers & Usurpers – Bookish trailer madness

  1. I hadn’t heard about The Three Musketeers on BBC, but it looks terrific (and I’d love to see Peter Capaldi in that!). I hope it airs in the US without too much delay. CAN:T WAIT FOR GAME OF THRONES! So excited!!!

    • Did you see the first episode yet? I really liked Porthos and Aramis. There were some things I didn’t like, but I’ll reserve judgment until I’ve seen a bit more.

      • I’ve seen the first 2 eps and I love the show. So much fun. :) I really like Porthos and Aramis too, and D’Artagnan is a cutie. Still not quite sure about Athos.

Leave a Reply

