The Year in Review

GRbadge_2013 It’s time to take a look back at my reading year. I had set a Goodreads challenge to read 60 books this year, and I aced it! I read a lot of graphic novels, which in part explain the 84 books that I managed to read. Here are some stats about the books I read.

Out of the 84 books, 32 were graphic novels, and 52 were “regular” books.

Among those 52 books were:

  • 41 speculative fiction books and 11 books of other genres
  • 35 adult and 17 YA/middle grade/children’s novels
  • 28 male authors and 24 female authors

As much as I read last year, I only set myself a challenge to read 50 books this year. I want to focus on quality vs quantity after realizing that I only gave a few books 5 stars last year. What I mean is that this year I will try to choose my books more carefully to suit my tastes, and try to actually use the 5 star rating in Goodreads.

Other Challenges

In the year 2013 I wanted to try and read more classics as well as to go “back to my roots” and read more adult high fantasy. I made a loose pact with myself to try and read one of each per month. Here’s how I did:

8 Classics
Mansfield Park Great Expectations The Island of Dr. Moreau The Scarlet Pimpernel
The Hunchback of Notre Dame The Turn of he Screw War of the Worlds Peter Pan
Mansfield Park by Jane Austen | Great Expectations by Charles Dickens |
The Island of Dr. Moreau by H.G. Wells | The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy |
The Hunchback of Notre Dame by Victor Hugo | The Turn of the Screw by Henry James | The War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells | Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie

If you count We Have Always Lived in the Castle and the short story collection The Tooth by Shirley Jackson as classics, then I read ten classics. I’m overall very happy with this result.

A lowly 3 adult high/epic fantasy novels!
Throne of the Crescent Moon A Feast for Crows A Dance with Dragons
Throne of the Crescent Moon by Saladin Ahmed | A Feast for Crows by
George R.R. Martin | A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin

The worst fail ever! Even if you count the 1 YA high fantasy I also read, that only makes four! This brings me to my new year’s resolution: to read those high fantasy novels that I’ve been meaning to read for years. I’m going to make a list of 10 books, and challenge myself to read all of them in 2014. I will be posting the books I chose tomorrow, January 7th.

How did your reading year go? Did you meet your challenges? Did you make a re-cap or a wrap up post? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

