Current Reads: Whispers Under Ground

How has your new reading year begun? Gotten off to a good start? I’ll be posting about my resolutions for 2014 tomorrow, so tell me / link me to your resolutions if you want!

This post is linked at “It’s Monday, what are you reading?”, a weekly meme that tells us what the blogosphere is currently reading. It is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey. The links in the cover images take you to GoodReads.

I am currently reading

Whispers Under Ground
Whispers Under Ground
(Peter Grant #3)
By: Ben Aaronovitch
Genre: Urban fantasy police procedural

A whole new reason to mind the gap.

It begins with the dead body of an American exchange student at the far end of Baker Street tube station – and the victim’s wealthy, politically powerful family is understandably eager to get to the bottom of the murder. The trouble is, the bottom – if it exists at all – is deeper and more unnatural than anybody suspects… except, that is, for London constable and sorcerer’s apprentice Peter Grant.

This week I’m reading the third book in the Peter Grant series. I fell in love with the series last year, and the first two books made it to many of my top lists for 2013 (e.g. Best new-to-me authors).

I’m only two chapters in, and I’m enjoying it a lot already. The characters and the dialogue are always so good and lifelike. All the side characters feel like real people. I strongly recommend this series, the books are fun & exciting urban fantasy mysteries/police procedurals.

Last week I posted

End of the Year Book Haul
December Wrap-Up
The Best Books of 2013

Last week I finished reading

Over Sea Under Stone
Over Sea, Under Stone (Dark is Rising #1) by Susan Cooper
I enjoyed this very much! What a nice start to a children’s fantasy adventure series, I’m surprised that I didn’t read this when I was a kid.

6 thoughts on “Current Reads: Whispers Under Ground

  1. Over Sea, Under stone looks good, I think I’ve heard of that series before but it’s been awhile. I still have a soft spot for good classic fantasy…

Leave a Reply

