End of the Year Book Haul (2013)

I have so many unread books on my shelves that I was trying to curb my book buying during the end of the year. This haul post is for the past three months put together. In October and December I only bought one physical book, as well as some ebooks from winter sales. In November, though, I went to London and picked up quite a few books… ’cause, you know, London.

London Haul

December Book Haul 1
Antigoddess (Goddess War #1) by Kendare Blake
Prince of Thorns (The Broken Empire #1) by Mark Lawrence
Courtney Crumrin’s Monstrous Holiday (Courtney Crumrin #4) by Ted Naifeh
Sorcery & Cecelia, or The Enchanted Chocolate Pot (Cecelia & Kate #1) by Patricia C. Wrede & Caroline Stevermer
William Shakespeare’s Star Wars: Verily, A New Hope by Ian Doescher

Yeah, I went a bit overboard in London. That’s what comes from visiting both Forbidden Planet and Waterstones. I ended up spending most of my trip budget on these books, but honestly, I didn’t have anything else in mind to spend the money on. Sorcery & Cecelia is a book I’ve read a couple of times and loved, so I wanted my own copy. And I already own one copy of the fourth Courtney Crumrin graphic novel collection, but that didn’t stop me from buying the hardcover, coloured special edition. The other books I haven’t read yet, though I glanced at the Shakespearean Star Wars book and found it awesome & hilarious! (I also bought and instantly read the first issue of the new Sandman series, not pictured here.)

Other Bought Books

December Book Haul 2
The Red Tree by Caitlín R. Kiernan
All These Things I’ve Done (Birthright #1) by Gabrielle Zevin
Snuff (Discworld #39) by Terry Pratchett

In October I grew my Kiernan collection by ordering a used copy of The Red Tree from Better World Books. It is in wonderful condition, just like new. In November, I was going to travel by train, and realized at the station that I had brought nothing to read for the journey! That’s when I picked up Snuff from a little pocket book shop at the station. :) Disaster averted! And in December I bought All These Things I’ve Done on sale from Bookdepository, since I’d heard Misty from The Book Rat say good things about it in her videos.

E-books

December Book Haul 3
The Mislaid Magician, or Ten Years After (Cecelia & Kate #3) by Patricia C. Wrede & Caroline Stevermer
Engraved on the Eye by Saladin Ahmed
Seed to Harvest (Patternmaster #1-4 omnibus) by Octavia E. Butler

Then were the Amazon Christmas sales, and I bought a couple of Kindle books. Despite disliking the second novel, I bought The Mislaid Magician to finish reading the Cecelia & Kate series. And since I’ve never read Octavia E. Butler, and I got the whole series for $2.99, I bought the Patternmaster omnibus to try her out. I also picked up a collection of Saladin Ahmed’s short stories for free.

This haul is linked at the weekly haul memes Stacking the Shelves, hosted by Tynga’s Reviews, and Showcase Sunday, hosted by Books, Biscuits, and Tea.

18 thoughts on “End of the Year Book Haul (2013)

    • The Shakespearean Star Wars has gems like:
      Luke: – But O, what now? What light through yonder flashing sensor breaks?
      Han: It marks the loss of yon deflector shield.
      :D

    • All These Things I’ve Done seems to have pretty mixed reviews, so I’m interested in reading it and forming my own opinion! It sounds good, though, you’re right. The Star Wars book is absolutely wonderful, from what little bits I’ve managed to read from it. Prince of Thorns was recommended to me by another blogger and it has a blurb by Robin Hobb (one of my fav fantasy authors) on the cover, so I had to get it.

  1. I admire your restraint. Only one physical book in a month! I really love Sorcery and Cecelia and think it is time for another re-read. I have both the original printing and the one with the cover you show. I really liked All These Things I’ve Done too and must get the third in that series. Come see what I got at Ms. Martin Teaches Media and Inside of a Dog. Happy reading!

    • Well, I don’t have any space left on my bookshelves, so I have to start reading the ones I’ve bought before I can fit any more in! I just checked out the old cover of S&C from Goodreads, since I had never seen it before. It looked very much like an 80s fantasy cover, which it of course is. :)

    • Yes, the Star Wars book is really pretty. I like the illustration style. And what little I’ve read of it was pretty funny, well done and definitely Shakespearean in tone.

Leave a Reply

