The Best Books of 2013

It’s time to choose my Top 10 books of 2013. You might have seen some of these already on my other top lists, but here I go again! This time I’ll only give you a few key words to tell you why I liked the book, so as not to repeat myself.

This year I read 84 books and graphic novels, and thus totally owned my GoodReads challenge of reading 60 books. With that said, though, there weren’t many books that I gave five stars to (many got four, though). This makes me thinks that next year I should read less and choose my books more carefully. I’ll write more about my reading resolutions later.

This post is linked at “Top Ten Tuesday”, a weekly book list meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish. All the links below take you to GoodReads.

Maija’s Top 10 books Read in 2013

Top 10 Best 2013_1

1. Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch
Magic in London, with a great villain + Inspector Nightingale!

2. Runaways by Brian K. Vaughan & Adrian Alphona
Teens with super powers, gadgets and magic! My favourite graphic novel series of the year.

3. Throne of the Crescent Moon by Saladin Ahmed
A fun, bit old-schoolish sword-and-sorcery adventure in an interesting world. A quick and fun read!

Top 10 Best 2013_2b

4. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
Another fun adventure, with great 80s references.

5. The Drowning Girl by Caitlín R. Kiernan
Lovely prose in a puzzle box of a story.

6. Hunchback of Notre-Dame by Victor Hugo
Great ending saved the boring beginning, and Frollo was an interesting character to follow.

Top 10 Best 2013_3

7. Hitchhiker’s Guide by Douglas Adams
I re-read the series this year, and this first book is still my favourite. I love how the aliens treat poor Arthur!

8. Doll Bones by Holly Black
I really enjoyed this middle-grade coming-of-age story with some creepy tones thrown in.

9. Eternally Yours by Cate Tiernan
There wasn’t much plot in this final book of the series, but I just love the main character, Nas, and her quips!

10. Moab is My Washpot by Stephen Fry
A very earnest autobiography of Fry’s school years. I could relate to a lot of his feelings, especially about musical talent.

6 thoughts on “The Best Books of 2013

  1. Hey
    Great list. Must read the next books by Ben A. I keep thinking I’ll buy the Crescent Moon – I should check out your thoughts on that. I loved Ready Player One. I also read the Hitchhiker’s Guide again this year and loved it all over. I can’t remember if I’ve read the last one by Kate Tiernan – have you tried the trilogy by Alma Katsu – you might like that – I think it’s good and we do seem to share quite a few books in common so you never know. I love the look of Dolls Bone – will add to the list.
    Happy 2014 to you.
    Lynn :D

    • Yeah, definitely check out Aaronovitch’s series. I think I never got around to making a review of Crescent Moon – I read it in a time when I didn’t do my end-of-the-month wrap ups, where I review stuff. I’ll check out Alma Katsu on Goodreads. Happy 2014 to you, too!

    • Yeah, it’s fun if you enjoy following how teens interact with each other in a group — :D I made it sound like some kind of scientific study there, didn’t I? I mean I enjoyed the relationships.

Leave a Reply

