Top 10 New-To-Me Authors I Read in 2013

This post is linked at “Top Ten Tuesday”, a weekly book list meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish. All the book covers take you to GoodReads.

Finding new authors that you love can be hard – there is so much to choose from, and I have a tendency to pick up books by familiar authors. This year I mostly read authors I’ve read before, but I did manage to make a couple of new acquaintances. Putting this list together made me find out about the authors’ upcoming and past books, which will make it easier to find more to read from them in the future. To make things easier for you guys, I tried to provide links to everything and anything.

Fantasy & Science Fiction Authors

Rivers Of London Moon Over Soho
1. Ben Aaronovitch
My absolute favourite of this year’s new-to-me authors. In 2013 I read the first two wizard-detective Peter Grant books, Rivers of London (re-named Midnight Riot in the US) and Moon Over Soho.
What next?
The rest of the Peter Grant series out now, Whispers Underground and Broken Homes.

Throne of the Crescent Moon Ready Player One
2. Saladin Ahmed
I read Throne of the Crescent Moon, Ahmed’s debut novel, and loved the fast-paced, no-nonsense sword & sorcery adventure in an Arabian-style world.
What next?
While waiting for the next book in the Crescent Moon Kingdoms series, I’m planning to read his Kindle short story collection Engraved on the Eye, which I found available for free on Amazon.

3. Ernest Cline
Cline’s debut novel, Ready Player One, was almost like watching a movie with 80s references thrown in.
What next?
His second novel, Armada, will probably come out late next year. It sounds a bit like the 80s movie The Last Starfighter, and I’m intrigued.

YA Authors

Zombies Vs Unicorns Will Grayson, Will Grayson
4. Diana Peterfreund
I first read Peterfreund in the Zombies Vs. Unicorns anthology – she wrote my favourite unicorn story of the book, The Care and Feeding of Your Baby Killer Unicorn. After that I read another killer unicorn short story Errant, and her novel For Darkness Shows the Stars + a short story in the same universe, Among the Nameless Stars. So I’ve already read quite a lot of her stuff!
What next?
I could read her Killer Unicorns series; Rampant and Ascendant, as well as continue with the For Darkness series with the novel Across a Star-Swept Sea and the short story The First Star to Fall.

5. David Levithan
I read Will Grayson, Will Grayson, which Levithan co-wrote with John Green (whom I’d read before). It made me curious to look into his solo projects, as well as his other collaborations.
What next?
He has written a lot of books! I’m excited to check out e.g. Boy Meets Boy, Two Boys Kissing, and his collaborations like Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares with Rachel Cohn.

6. Alaya Dawn Johnson
Another short story from the Zombies Vs. Unicorns anthology; my favourite zombie story, the beautiful Love Will Tear Us Apart. The writing and the atmosphere it created were spell-binding, so I think I should check out her novels.
What next?
I might try the novel that came out this year, The Summer Prince. The reviews at GoodReads are all over the place with 1 to 5 star ratings, so I think I’ll have to pick it up and form my own opinion. She has other stuff out, too, but this one caught my eye.

Graphic Novel Authors

Runaways Vol 1 Hawkeye, Vol. 1

7. Brian K. Vaughan
I first read and loved Vaughan’s Runaways (art by Adrian Alphona), the story of a group of teens who have run away from their supervillain parents. Then I picked up his science fiction & fantasy comic Saga (art by Fiona Staples), and liked it, as well. Vaughan writes great characters, and that is a big deal why I like his comics so much.
What next?
I need to read his dystopian comic series, Y: The Last Man (art by Pia Guerra). There’s also Ex Machina (art by Tony Harris), of which I yet know nothing. Should find out what it is about, I guess.

8. Matt Fraction
I really liked Fraction’s slice-of-life take on Hawkeye (art by David Aja). The art style was great, too, as Aja’s Eisner Awards prove. I read volumes 1 and 2, and am looking forward to the next one.
What next?
Hawkeye, Vol. 3: L.A. Woman, comes out next year. Before that I could check out Casanova (art by Gabriel Bá).

Classic Authors

The Hunchback of Notre Dame Peter Pan

9. Victor Hugo
The Hunchback of Notre Dame is my favourite classic from this year, but I’m still hesitant to read more from Hugo. While the characters were great, and the plot was great… Hugo often went off on tangents and made the book longer than necessary with his architectural essays.
What next?
I could read Les Misérables, which is even longer than The Hunchback, and I’m afraid it might be even more jam-packed with stuff that’s completely unrelated to the plot. If you’ve read both of them, how do they compare?

10. J. M. Barrie
I loved Barrie’s narrator voice in Peter Pan, and how the book was both charming and dark at the same time.
What next?
I actually don’t know. Has Barrie written something else that’s still currently available and stands the test of time?

So, that’s everything! I hope all the links are of use to someone. Tell me, were there any authors you like on my list?

10 thoughts on “Top 10 New-To-Me Authors I Read in 2013

  1. Wow, really terrific list! I’ve actually read Les Miserables… and yes, it’s jammed full of detail after detail about Paris, convents, sewers, etc that only minimally have anything to do with the plot. I can’t say I’m sorry to have read it, but it was kind of painful at times. (Sorry, haven’t read any other Hugo, so I have no point of comparison. I should probably look into Ex Machine too, but first, Runaways! I absolutely love David Levithan. Amazing writer — I’ve loved everything I’ve read by him so far, including his solo-authored books and his collaborations. I still really need to read Ready Player One! Looks like you had a great reading year in 2013!

    • Thanks! I’ve only seen the new movie version of Les Misérables, that’s how much I know about it. I wasn’t so interested in the beginning, but the latter half was better – I was interested in the revolution plans and the youngsters, and how the plot spanned decades. So I might like the book. But then again, I’ve heard about the sewer stuff etc… I’ll give it a try sometime. And yes, Vaughan’s run of Runaways is great – I was warned off the continuation of the series with other writers, so I left those unread. Glad to hear you like David Levithan so much, I’m looking forward to reading more from him.

  2. I’ve been meaning to read Rivers of London – I’ve heard so many great things about that series. Also, I actually just finished the first Hawkeye volume this week, and I’m definitely looking forward to getting the second. I have Saga on deck to read next.

    Love your list!

    • I really like the art style in Hawkeye! Both the drawing style and the coloring. Saga has some great characters, it’s jus too bad that I don’t like the main couple… I’m not even sure, why! I like the others, though. I hope you’ll enjoy it!

  3. I love those Ben Aaronovitch covers!! I have been trying to read READY PLAYER ONE since it came out! Haven’t had time yet!!! Love Diana Peterfreund! She’s so great! So is Alaya Dawn Johnson :) Good choices! Hmm, what about books that take Peter Pan in new directions? Like TIGER LILY by Jodi Lynn Anderson, the Peter and the Starcatchers series by Ridley Pearson and Dave Barry and the upcoming SECOND STAR by Alyssa Sheinmel!

    • Yeah, the covers are so beautiful!

      Hmm, I actually have a darker take on Peter Pan on my shelves, it’s The Child Thief by Brom, the fantasy artist. I really should read it.

  4. Great list. Ben Aaronovitch has been on my TBR – His books look amazing and I’ve also been wanting to read Throne of the Crescent Moon. I’m not a big graphic novel reader but loved Bill Willingham’s Fables? Runaways looks like it might be a fun one to try!

Leave a Reply

