Current Reads: Mostly Harmless

This post is linked at “It’s Monday, what are you reading?”, a weekly meme that tells us what the blogosphere is currently reading. It is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey. The links in the cover images take you to GoodReads.

I am currently reading

Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless
(Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy #5)
By: Douglas Adams
Genre: Science fiction comedy
My copy: From the library

Arthur Dent is doing well, if you don’t count the two things he has lost: the woman he loves, and the world in which he lived. Due to a strange accident during hyperspace travel, he finds himself in a parallel world, and all he has to fall back on are a few sandwich-making skills.

It’s time for the final book in the Hitchhiker’s Guide series. This is the book I remember the least about – not kidding, I only remember that Arthur makes sandwiches – so it’s almost like I’m reading this for the first time. The parallel universe thing doesn’t quite sit well with me, since it seems like a device to ignore whatever was going on in the previous books. It doesn’t take too much enjoyment away, though, since the books have almost always been more about the current adventure instead of a big, series-spanning plot.

Last week I posted

November Wrap-Up

Last week I finished reading

Snuff The Fractal Prince A Brides Story Vol 4
Snuff (Discworld #39) by Terry Pratchett
The Fractal Prince by Hannu Rajaniemi
A Bride’s Story, vol. 4 by Kaoru Mori

Have a great reading week!

9 thoughts on “Current Reads: Mostly Harmless

  1. I never got this far in the Hitchhiker series, read the first two and maybe the third, not sure… its been a while. I should reread these and finish the series…

  2. Seeing this post makes me realize that I never finished the Hitchhiker books! I read the first three, even thought I have an all-in-one edition that has them all. I’ve also meant to read the Dirk Gently books — have you read them?

    • I’ve read the Dirk Gently books, but it was such a long time ago that I’ve forgotten almost everything about them, as well! I remember liking them, but not as much as the Hitchhiker’s Guide.

      Did you know there’s also a Dirk Gently TV series, made last year? I’ve only seen the pilot from 2010, but it was pretty funny.

Leave a Reply

