Current Reads: Snuff

This post is linked at “WWW Wednesdays”, a weekly reading meme hosted by Should Be Reading. All the links take you to GoodReads.

I am currently reading

Snuff
Snuff

(A Discworld Novel)
By: Terry Pratchett
Genre: Comic fantasy
From: My bookshelf

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a policeman taking a holiday would barely have had time to open his suitcase before he finds his first corpse.

Commander Sam Vimes of the Ank-Morpork City Watch is on holiday in the pleasant and innocent countryside, but not for him a mere body in the wardrobe. There are many, many bodies – and an ancient crime more terrible than murder.

Guys, I started reading yet another book! Last weekend I was going to visit another town (to see Rocky Horror, woot!) when at the station I realized I had packed no entertainment for the train ride. Shock & horror! So I went to the the station’s paperback store and picked up Snuff.

I had been craving for Pratchett for a while, and even though I haven’t yet read Making Money and Unseen Academicals, the two previous installments, I had read the previous Vimes/Guards book, Thud!, and that is all you need to read this Vimes book. I like that Pratchett has so many different character storylines to follow in the Discworld novels, so you can choose whether you want to read say, a Death book, or the witches, or a wizards book. I’m having much fun so far, and I love how Pratchett always seems to a have a more serious theme under all the comedy, especially in his later books.

Last week I finished

Saga Vol 2 So Long, And Thanks For All The Fish
Saga, Vol. 2 by Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples
I still like the people hunting the main couple more than the main couple. Especially Prince Robot IV – he’s more or less the reason I keep on reading.

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish (Hitchhiker’s Guide #4), by Douglas Adams
Hoping to finish my re-read round of the series this year! I love the biscuit eating story in this one…

What might be next

Next I hope I’ll finish all three (!) books that I’ve started but not finished! That is, The Fractal Prince by Hannu Rajaniemi, The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss and Great Expectations by Charles Dickens. Wish me luck!
The Fractal Prince The Name of the Wind Great Expectations

Hope you all have a great reading week!

Leave a Reply

