Current Reads: The Name of the Wind

This post is linked at “It’s Monday, what are you reading?”, a weekly meme that tells us what the blogosphere is currently reading. It is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey. The links in the cover images take you to GoodReads.

I am currently reading

The Name of the Wind
The Name of the Wind
(The Kingkiller Chronicle #1)
By: Patrick Rothfuss
Genre: Epic fantasy
My copy borrowed from my sister

The most notorious wizard the world has ever seen, famed dragon-slayer, feared swordsman, his tale is part myth, part hearsay, part wild speculation… but Kvothe himself has vanished, taking the truth behind the flamboyant rumours with him. The world has settled without him, but his story still lives. And, for the first time, Kvothe is going to tell it…

I’m finally starting this series! I feel like reading books again, so of course I went right ahead and picked up the heftiest tome in my reach… I started reading this on the weekend, and so far I really like the writing style. It doesn’t feel heavy at all, which, for such a big book, is a strong plus. I like both Kote/Kvothe and Bast already, and am intrigued about their backgrounds, as well as the mythology of the world. Yay, can’t wait to learn more!

I’m not finished reading all those graphic novels yet, though; I’m continuing Runaways, and started with Invincible.

Last week I read

Fortunately The Milk Runaways Vol 1 The Walking Dead Vol 1
Fortunately, the Milk… by Neil Gaiman & Chris Riddell
Runaways #1-18, the first Runaways story arc, by Brian K. Vaughan, Adrian Alphona & Takeshi Miyazawa
The Walking Dead, Vol. 1 by Robert Kirkman

  • Last week I read Neil Gaiman’s whimsical children’s book Fortunately, the Milk… and found it really fun. This was the UK version with great illustrations by Riddell.
  • I finally read the first story arc of Runaways, and I really enjoyed it! I liked the characters as well as the compact storyline. The numbering of the issues and the collected volumes can get confusing with this series (which is why I originally first read the first volume of the second storyline, thinking it was the beginning of the series…) but that is like the only downside of it.
  • I also read the first volume of The Walking Dead, while I was sitting at the library waiting for someone to get to downtown to meet me. I wasn’t that into it, since the volume covered the story that is in the few TV series episodes that I’ve actually seen, so it was nothing new. I did like the art style, though, and found the original illustrated version of Rick Grimes more likeable than his TV counterpart. I don’t think I’ll be continuing with this series, though, it was just a nice pause at the library.

Last week I posted

Character names I love
A Sentence from Game of Thrones

2 thoughts on “Current Reads: The Name of the Wind

  1. I have been holding off on reading The Name of the Wind, just because I feel like I’m too involved in too many series already. But I’ve heard such great things, and realize I really should start it already. Glad to hear you’re liking it so far! I also have Runaways in my to-read pile — I’ve been waiting for a week when I’m really in a graphic novels kind of mood. :) Sounds like you had (and you’re having) a great reading week. Enjoy!

    • I only read the Brian K. Vaughan storylines in Runaways. I hear the quality drops quickly after that and the characters don’t behave like they should. So I just decided to stop where the original creator did, and it was amazing! I definitely recommend it.

Leave a Reply

