Character names I love

This week’s Top 10 Tuesday topic was about covers I’d like to redesign, but I was drawing a blank. I like highlighting beautiful covers, but don’t really want to think about the bad ones. Instead I decided to pick a topic I had missed, which was about one’s favourite character names. I love these names for how they sound, and some of them also for how well they fit the character in question.

This post is linked at “Top Ten Tuesday”, a weekly book list meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish. All the links take you to Goodreads.

Maija’s Top 10 favourite character names

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell Dracula Courtney Crumrin Vol.1 Soulless

1. Dorian Gray
From The Picture of Dorian Gray, by Oscar Wilde

2. Lestat de Lioncourt
From The Vampire Chronicles, by Anne Rice

3. Jonathan & Arabella Strange
From Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, by Susanna Clarke

4. Marquis de Carabas
From Neverwhere, by Neil Gaiman

5. Ichabod Crane
From The Legend of Sleepy Hollow, by Washington Irving

6. Genevieve Lefoux
From the Parasol Protectorate series, by Gail Carriger (introduced in book 2)

7. Lucy Westenra
From Dracula, by Bram Stoker

8. Aloysius Crumrin
From the Courtney Crumrin graphic novels, by Ted Naifeh

9. Raistlin Majere
From the Dragonlance universe, mainly Dragonlance Chronicles & Legends, by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman

10. Lucy Honeychurch
From A Room with a View, by E. M. Forster

3 thoughts on “Character names I love

  1. This is great. I also couldn’t post answers for this week. I went and had a look at some of my books and, okay, I might not love all the covers but I was struggling to come up with a post so I did Teaser Tuesday this week. I’m glad I wasn’t the only one who couldn’t come up with something.
    Some great choices by the way.
    Lynn :D

Leave a Reply

