Current Reads: Divergent

How are you guys doing? I’m a bit in between books right now, can’t seem to be able to decide what I want to read…

This post is linked at “WWW Wednesdays”, a weekly reading meme hosted by Should Be Reading. All the cover images take you to GoodReads.

I am currently reading

Divergent
Divergent

(Divergent #1)
By: Veronica Roth
Genre: YA dystopian
From: My bookshelf

In a divided society where everyone must conform, sixteen-year-old Tris does not fit. She is forced to choose and devote the rest of her life to one of the five factions. Where does she belong?

So, the final book of this series, Allegiant, just came out yesterday, and I’m only starting book one. This has been sitting forever on my shelf, and I had it on my most intimidating books list back in July. The book is just so popular, and there’s so much hype around it, that I was afraid to pick it up and perhaps be disappointed.

Like I said, I have just started, and so far so good. There are things about the world that bother me, though. Like, you divide people into five factions that don’t even meet each other that much, and sometimes even disdain one another, and expect that to stop wars? Wait, wha-huh? 16-year-olds are supposed to choose their factions, but then their old factions/family feel betrayed by them if they choose something else than what they were born into. Yeah, very peaceful. Also, some of the ways the people are expected to behave within a certain faction are very stupid, or just don’t make a lot of sense. Yeah, I see that the society isn’t even supposed to be awesome and perfect, that’s why it’s a dystopia, but I fail to see how the original idea for this society even got started. Who had this awesome idea “to stop war”? This is like Harry Potter’s school houses, yo, that stuff doesn’t actually disencourage competition.

With all that said about the world, I try not to think about it, and focus on the story and the characters. I like the characters for the most part, and I find the book very easy to read. There are some whiffs of an Ender’s Game kind of situation thrown in (smallest of the bunch must learn to ruthlessly defend him/herself, and wonders if he/she can be a good person), I’m interested in how that will play out. This could be an exciting tale of adventure, if I just give it a chance and try to accept the world building… I’ll try to do that!

Last week I finished

Will Grayson, Will Grayson
Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

I visited family last week, picked this book up from my sister’s shelves and read it in a couple of nights (and I mean, in the middle of the night when everyone else was sleeping). I’d only read one book from Green before, and none from Leviathan, so I didn’t quite know what to expect. It turned out to bes just what I needed; a quick, engaging read that just swept me along.

4 thoughts on “Current Reads: Divergent

Leave a Reply

