September Book Haul (2013)

Last month I only bought comics, and one preorder book arrived. Other books were free Kindle classics or books from the library. I’m trying to curb my book buying, and focus on the ones on my shelves!

Bought Books/Gifts

September Book Haul 1
Adventure Time: Marceline and the Scream Queens by Meredith Gran
Saga Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples
The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black
Gore – Honour and Brains by Miisa Lopperi

I visited the Helsinki Comics Festival in September, and bought two comic books. I’d been hearing very good things about Saga, and Gore was an interesting-looking self-published fantasy comic from a Finnish artist. It turned out to be well-drawn and a lot of fun, with solid characterization. I haven’t read Saga yet. My sister brought me the Adventure Time comic from her visit to London.

Borrowed Books

September Book Haul 3
Eternally Yours (Immortal Beloved #3) by Cate Tiernan
The Cuckoo’s Calling (Cormoran Strike #1) by Robert Galbraith
The Fractal Prince (Jean le Flambeur #2) by Hannu Rajaniemi

My friend lent me her copy of the final volume in the Immortal Beloved series. I really liked the second book, so I hope I enjoy this one, as well! The other books are from the library, a crime novel from J.K. Rowling writing under a pen name, and hard science fiction from a Finnish author.

Free E-books

September Book Haul2
Audrey’s Guide to Witchcraft by Jody Gehrman
A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
Great Expectations by by Charles Dickens
Les Misérables by Victor Hugo
The Complete Works of H.P. Lovecraft

The Complete Works of H.P. Lovecraft The four books pictured above were free ebooks from Amazon. Gehrman’s book was free as a special deal, and the rest are free classics. I also downloaded The Complete Works of H.P. Lovecraft (all of his works are public domain) from Cthulhu Chick’s web site. She’s done so much work compiling the book by herself, it’s amazing!

 

This haul is linked at the weekly haul memes Stacking the Shelves, hosted by Tynga’s Reviews, and Showcase Sunday, hosted by Books, Biscuits, and Tea.

5 thoughts on “September Book Haul (2013)

    • I just finished it, I liked it but didn’t love it. It’s a good crime novel, but I just wasn’t swept away by the characters. If you like crime fiction, I totally recommend you give it a shot!

Leave a Reply

