Current Reads: The Cuckoo’s Calling

currentreads_cuckooscalling
This post is linked at “WWW Wednesdays”, a weekly reading meme hosted by Should Be Reading. All the cover images take you to GoodReads.

Some News

Alison from Hardcovers and Heroines is having a birthday giveaway! Visit the link and comment on her birthday post in order to take part in the giveaway for a 26 dollar Amazon gift certificate, in honor of her 26th birthday! The giveaway runs until the 26th of October. Happy birthday, Alison!

I am currently reading

The Cuckoo's Calling
The Cuckoo’s calling

By: Robert Galbraith (J.K. Rowling)
Genre: Crime/Mystery
From: The library

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case.

My reserved copy of Joanne Rowling’s (writing under a pseudonym) new crime novel arrived at the library, and I’m about 150 pages in. So far it is immensely readable. It seems like it will be a decent mystery novel, but only time will tell if I’ll fall in love with the story or the characters.

There was a little pause in my reading right after the beginning, and when I continued I realized that it had been a mistake – I had forgotten how important it is to keep the different characters and events fresh in your mind when reading a mystery! Now I’m back on the map, and have learned my lesson. I should finish the book this week.

Great Expectations
Great Expectations

By: Charles Dickens
Genre: Classic literature
From: My Kindle

I have never read a Dickens novel before! For some reason I just haven’t been that interested. I recently saw the 2012 BBC movie adaptation Great Expectations, though, and liked the plot so much that I had to start reading the book immediately afterwards. I am taking it slow, and reading it on the side, as with all my classic reads.

Last week I finished

Mansfield Park Legend
Mansfield Park by Jane Austen
Legend by Marie Lu

What might be next

Eternally Yours The Fractal Prince The Coldest Girl in Coldtown
I just recently borrowed a copy of Eternally Yours by Cate Tiernan from a friend. I also have The Fractal Prince by Hannu Rajaniemi from the library, and Holly Black’s newest novel, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, is staring at me from my shelf. It could be any one of these next!

What are you reading? Are you looking forward to Halloween, perhaps craving for some scary reads? Let me know, I love good ghost/vampire/gothic horror stories!

6 thoughts on “Current Reads: The Cuckoo’s Calling

  1. I too have never read a Dickens novel, but I’ve seen a couple of movies/mini-series based on them. I really should get around to it sometime in the near future…. I hope you enjoy Great Expectations and share your thoughts! :D

    • I’m finding the pacing okay, myself, but I went ahead and took a look at your review, and I agree with the alienating effect of the third-person omniscient narration. It throws me aback when she jumps between Robin’s and Cormoran’s thoughts within the same chapter!

Leave a Reply

