My Fall Reading List

Although I’ve only read half of the books from My Summer Reading List, that won’t stop me from making a Fall TBR list! These are the books I’m most looking forward to reading this fall. Most of these are not new releases, but older books that I own and have been meaning to read for a while. Many of these are chunksters, so it could be that these are *all* the books I’ll have time for! Two of the books here were also on my summer list, but I’m still excited to read them.

This post is linked at “Top Ten Tuesday”, a weekly book list meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish. All the links take you to Goodreads.

Maija’s Top 10 Books from Fall TBR Pile

FallTBR_2013_1

1. The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black
This is a new release that just arrived to my doorstep. Holly Black writing a vampire story, too of my favorite things combined!

2. The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss
This huuge book has been on loan from my sister for far too long, I need to hurry up and jump on the Kingkiller Chronicle bandwagon.

3. The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith
Well what do you know, J.K. Rowling’s writing + mystery/crime fiction, also two things that I love!

4. The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch
Another much-loved epic fantasy series that I have been meaning to read for the longest time.

5. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
I love fantasy in a school setting, so I’m really looking forward to this YA book. I hope it contains a lot of magic and not that much romance.

FallTBR_2013_2

6. The Black Count by Tom Reiss
I’m a huge Alexandre Dumas fan, and I’ve heard great things about this non-fiction book dealing with the author’s father, the inspiration for The Count of Monte Cristo.

7. The Fractal Prince by Hannu Rajaniemi
The second book about the master thief Jean le Flambeur, and the rare occasion of a hard science fiction book on my TBR pile.

8. Low Red Moon by Caitlín R. Kiernan
I just recently read and loved Kiernan’s The Drowning Girl, so I thought it’s high time I start reading the unread books I own by her. This book features the characters from Threshold, which I also loved.

9. The Gunslinger by Stephen King
From my summer TBR list, this is a book that my sister loves and is bugging me to read.

10. Divergent by Veronica Roth
Also from my summer TBR list, I should really read this since both the final book and the first movie are coming out soon.

What’s on your Fall TBR list? Are there some books that you’ve been meaning to read for the longest time, or are most of them new releases?

4 thoughts on “My Fall Reading List

  1. This is an awesome list (and I feel like I could have written it myself!). I have a copy of The Coldest Girl waiting to be read, and also feel like I should finally get around to Divergent. I have the Patrick Rothfuss book as well (plus the next one), but I’ve been holding off because I don’t want to start this series until I know the final book has a release date. But I know it’s supposed to be excellent! A good friend of mine has been after me to read Caitlin Kiernan (she swears her books are amazing). And The Gunslinger!! I read the 1st 3 books in the series, then got distracted by whatever was going on in my life at the time and never went back to it. But I did love the books that I’d read so far, and really do intend to finish up! Looks like you’ll be having a great fall with lots of terrific books to read!

    • I’ve heard that Kiernan’s two latest books, The Red Tree, and The Drowning Girl, are a bit different from her previous ones. So far I’ve read the first two books of her career, and her newest (The Drowning Girl). Her prose has definitely matured, but I think all of the books had a wonderful atmosphere!

      And yeah, I’m definitely looking forward to this fall! Glad to know you loved Gunslinger.

Leave a Reply

