Top Five Books I Would Love To See As A Movie or TV Show

Since I just wrote a post about which Fall TV series I’m expecting the most, this is a great time to do a list about the books that I’d love to see made into movies or TV shows! Mind you, this would be in a perfect world, where no one could let down the source material…

Maija’s Top 5 Book to Movie Wish List

Book To Movie
1. The Sandman by Neil Gaiman
I’m dreaming of a high budget traditionally animated TV series. Just thinking about all of the gods and angels, dreams and fairies, and most of all the Endless themselves, getting a gorgeous animation treatment makes me sigh wistfully….

2. The Courtney Crumrin series by Ted Naifeh
A series of movies, please! This graphic novel series was optioned by Dreamworks way back in 2007, but it seems nothing came of it. Such a shame! I want to see Courtney and Aloysius kicking ass and making magic!

3. Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke
This would be a great TV mini series! The historical costumes, the elves & the magic, oh my.

4. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones
I know, this is already a Ghibli animation, but I’d love to see this as a live action movie that followed the original plot more closely!

5. His Majesty’s Dragon / Temeraire by Naomi Novik
This one would be a movie, definitely. Dragons and period drama = love.

Which books would you like to see as a movie or TV series, providing there was no chance that they’d be messed up?

This post is linked at “Top Ten Tuesday”, a weekly book list meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish.

9 thoughts on “Top Five Books I Would Love To See As A Movie or TV Show

  1. Oh, yeah, Temeraire! I almost put that on my list too, but I already had some dragons.

    I hear Peter Jackson has bought the rights to it, so we might actually see a movie some day. This can be good news or bad, depending on your views of PJ!

    • I really don’t have major views for or against Jackson, I definitely liked the Lord of the Rings movies but wasn’t a huuuuge fan. But I would so go see Temeraire in a heartbeat!

    • The Ghibli version is growing on me, though I didn’t like it when I first saw it due to how much the plot had been changed… But now that I know it is almost completely different from the book, I can enjoy it better as it is.

Leave a Reply

