August Book Haul (2013)

Time for a book haul! I’ve been irresponsible and bought new books to fill my already full bookshelf. (Some of them were free, though…) I need to get reading!

E-books

The Strange Affair of Spring-Heeled Jack
The Strange Affair of Spring Heeled Jack
(Burton & Swinburne #1) by Mark Hodder

At the beginning of the month, I had this “wonderful” idea of choosing a random book from my GoodReads To Read shelf in order to bring it to a more manageable size. So I hit a random number generator online, chose a book corresponding that number, and it happened to be The Strange Affair of Spring-Heeled Jack. Now, my library doesn’t carry it, so I bought it for my Kindle. Right after this, all my reserved books from the library arrived, so I didn’t even get started with this one. Which means that my grand plan to shorten my TBR list only lead to me buying another book to add to the ones I’ve bought this year and not yet read… Fail.

Library Haul

August Book Haul 1
Legend by Marie Lu
The Drowning Girl by Caitlín R. Kiernan
Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

These are the books that came from the library. I’ve been waiting for The Drowning Girl to arrive since February, and it finally did. This book has won and been nominated for a bunch of fantasy and horror awards. I just love Kiernan’s spell-binding writing style, and can’t wait to get to this! And of course right at the same time that this arrived, Poison Study finally reached me on the reservation list… And when I went to get them, Legend was just sitting there on the shelves, so I picked it up as well. So these three books are the next to be read.

Bought/Free Books

August Book Haul 2
The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
The Bromeliad Trilogy (including Truckers, Diggers and Wings) by Terry Pratchett
The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

Two of these three books were free! \o/
During The Night of the Arts in Helsinki, my bookstore had all paperbacks for -20%. That is why I decided to pick up The Raven Boys, craving for a fantasy book in a school setting. I didn’t like Stiefvater’s Shiver, but I thought she might have matured as a writer since then and will give her another chance. Buying The Raven Boys also filled up my paperback stamp card (buy 8, get 1 free), so I picked up The Lies of Locke Lamora, a high fantasy book that I’ve been meaning to read for a while.

Some time later I was walking through town and stopped by at this spot where people can leave their old books (sort of like a BookCrossing station), and found Pratchett’s The Bromeliad Trilogy, which I have never read. It is a huge book, and now my bookshelves are fit to burst, so I should definitely lay off reserving library books for a while, and focus on reading what I’ve bought… Right after my latest reservation, The Cuckoo’s Calling, reaches me. ;)

This haul is linked at the weekly haul memes Stacking the Shelves, hosted by Tynga’s Reviews, and Showcase Sunday, hosted by Books, Biscuits, and Tea.

4 thoughts on “August Book Haul (2013)

  1. My library doesn’t have The Drowning Girl *sad face* And I really enjoyed The Raven Boys (except for the ending) and Legend – so read those first :-) But seriously, hope you like all the books that you got, and I look forward to seeing what you think of them.

    • I made the library order The Drowning Girl! One section of our metropolitan area libraries actually has a fantasy team in charge of ordering SF&F books. So I contacted them and told them that the libraries had NO books by Kiernan. It seems they’re hard to get a hold of, but they managed to order this one, and I’ve been waiting for its arrival since February.

      Thanks for the tips! I need to read all the library books first, since there are people who have reserved them after me, and I can’t continue the loan time after this first due date.

Leave a Reply

