Current Reads: Moon over Soho

How are you all doing? I did a little revamp on the blog, appearance-wise. Hope you like it!

I am currently reading

Moon Over Soho
Moon Over Soho

(Peter Grant #2)
By: Ben Aaronovitch
Genre: Urban fantasy police procedural / mystery
From: Borrowed from my sister

Something violently supernatural had happened, something strong enough to leave an imprint on the corpse of part-time jazz saxophonist Cyrus Wilkinson as if he were a wax cylinder recording. He’s not the first musician to drop dead of a heart attack right after a gig, but no one was going to let me start examining corpses to check for supernatural similarities. Instead, it was back to old-fashioned police legwork. It didn’t take me long to realise there were monsters stalking Soho, creatures feeding off the gift that separates great musicians from those who can raise a decent tune. What they take is beauty. What they left behind is broken lives.

I got a lot of books I had reserved from the library, so of course I started reading the book I had borrowed from my sister… Of course, it only makes sense, right? I really liked the first Peter Grant novel, so I’m pretty excited about this one. I love how easy it is to read! The jazz theme also feels very intriguing. And I want to read more about my love, Inspector Nightingale. <3

Last week I finished

The Island of Dr. Moreau

I finished another H.G. Wells classic, The Island of Dr. Moreau. I have to say that I liked it best from the books I’ve read from him! Good, chilly moments, and interesting thoughts about the nature of men and animals.

This post is linked at “It’s Monday, what are you reading?”, a weekly meme that tells us what the blogosphere is currently reading. It is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

6 thoughts on “Current Reads: Moon over Soho

    • I’ve read The Time Machine and War of the Worlds before, and yes, I liked this the best! It might be less well known than those two, yes. I still have to read The Invisible Man.

    • Oh yes, I’ve heard of that “re-imagining”. I almost always read the original before the book that was inspired by it (that’s just how I am, I like the background info). But I do also think that a new book can manage to stand on its own without the original that inspired it.

    • You should try the Rivers of London, the first Peter Grant book. These are self-contained, I think, what with being crime novels, but of course it’s always nice to start from the first book.

      I’ve been into reading a lot of classic scifi/fantasy/adventure stories during the last year. It’s a lot of fun and it gives you a sense of background about where all these ideas started from.

Leave a Reply

