Current Reads: The Island of Dr. Moreau

This post is linked at “It’s Monday, what are you reading?”, a weekly meme that tells us what the blogosphere is currently reading. It is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

I am currently reading

The Island of Doctor Moreau
The Island of Doctor Moreau

By: H.G. Wells
Genre: Science fiction classic
From: The library

When Edward Prendick is rescued after the shipwreck of the Lady Vain, he finds himself aboard a vessel carrying a menagerie of wild animals and their keeper, Montgomery. Nursed back to health by Montgomery, Prendick is put ashore with the man and his beasts on an unknown island where he encounters Montgomery’s master, the brilliant and sinister Doctor Moreau. And soon, Prendick discovers that the island holds a dark and terrible secret – Doctor Moreau has been playing God.

I am continuing with classics after finishing The Scarlet Pimpernel last week. This time I picked up a science fiction classic. I have read The Time Machine and The War of the Worlds from Wells before, but I have to say that the beginning of this book has captured my interest better than those did. Wells truly was a visionary of SF, I mean, first time travel and alien invasion, now gene manipulation!

Last week I finished

The Scarlet Pimpernel A Dance with Dragons
The Scarlet Pimpernel follows a young woman who gets dragged into the mystery surrounding the Scarlet Pimpernel, the mysterious benefactor who rescues French aristocrats from the guillotine and transports them to English soil. It was very different from what I imagined – I thought it would be a fun swashbuckling romp with the Scarlet Pimpernel himself as the main character, but it was far more intrigue-based. I enjoyed it nonetheless, and found the female point of view character to make a refreshing change to the usual classic adventure stories.

I also finally finished A Dance with Dragons! The book didn’t really further the plot that much, but I liked it more than A Feast for Crows. It feels weird to have finished the last book published so far, after three years of reading this series. I had read the first two books when they came out, then after the first season of the Game of Thrones TV series, I picked the series up again and started from the beginning. It’s so weird that I can’t just move onto the next one!

How are you doing? Any of ASoIaF/GoT fans out there awaiting the next book/season?

Leave a Reply

