Current Reads: The Scarlet Pimpernel

This post is linked at “It’s Monday, what are you reading?”, a weekly meme that tells us what the blogosphere is currently reading. It is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

I am currently reading

The Scarlet Pimpernel
The Scarlet Pimpernel

By: Emmuska Orczy
Genre: Classic adventure
From: Project Gutenberg free Kindle edition

Armed with only his wits and his cunning, one man recklessly defies the French revolutionaries and rescues scores of innocent men, women, and children from the deadly guillotine. His friends and foes know him only as the Scarlet Pimpernel. But the ruthless French agent Chauvelin is sworn to discover his identity and to hunt him down. – (Synopsis from GoodReads)

I have a soft spot for historical fiction which either takes place in or just concerns France (The Three Musketeers, anyone?). So it’s no surprise that I’m enjoying this so far. I’m 62 % through, my Kindle says, and so far the story’s been about the general intrigue around the elusive Scarlet Pimpernel, instead of about his swashbuckling adventures, and the setting has been England instead of France, but I like it anyway! It was a big surprise to me that the main character, from whose viewpoint this story is told, is a woman. I always thought that The Scarlet Pimpernel himself was the main character! Well, live and learn.

Last Week I posted

Favourite Beginnings and Endings – a Top 10 list

Well, that’s that for this Monday! I have no idea what book I’m picking up next. What’s waiting on your shelves?

Leave a Reply

