Current Reads: Moon Called

I am still continuing with my 23 Day Reading Challenge. Here is a look into my reading this past week. All the cover images take you to GoodReads.

I am currently reading

Moon Called
Moon Called
(Mercy Thompson #1)
By: Patricia Briggs
Genre: Urban fantasy
From: The library

Mercedes Thompson runs a garage in the Tri-Cities. She’s a mechanic – and a damn good one – who spends her spare time karate training and tinkering with a VW bus that happens to belong to a vampire. Her next-door neighbour is an alpha werewolf – literally, the leader of the pack. And Mercy herself ia a shapeshifter, sister to coyotes. Hardly a normal situation, but then, Mercy Thompson is not exactly a normal young lady… and her connection to the world of things that go bump in the night is about to get her into a whole lot of trouble.

You might recall me mentioning this book in late May… Well, I am still reading it. I just wasn’t able to get into it and set it down for a while, but I thought I’d give it another chance during this reading challenge I’m doing. So far it has only managed to slow my reading down and kept me from reaching my daily quota of 100 pages for the challenge. I’m over halfway through, and only fairly recently has the plot been giving any indications of actually moving forward. It was just exposition, exposition, exposition. Something interesting happens – pause, now let’s talk about the world for a while – something else happens, oh, perhaps this will start moving forward now – let’s tell another character’s backstory for you! If I don’t get into it soon, I will have to give this one a pass.

Next up

Ready Player One
Ready Player One
By:
Ernest Cline
Genre: Sci-fi
From: My bookshelf

It’s the year 2044, and the real world has become an ugly place. We’re out of oil. We’ve wrecked the climate. Famine, poverty and disease are widespread.

Like most humanity, Wade Watts escapes this depressing reality by spending his waking hours jacked into the OASIS, a sprawling virtual utopia where you can be anything you want to be, where you can live and play and fall in love on any of ten thousand planets. And like most of humanity, Wade is obsessed by the ultimate lottery ticket that lies concealed within this alternate reality: OASIS founder James Halliday, who died with no heir, has promised that control of the OASIS – and his massive fortune – will go to the person who can solve the riddles he has left scattered throughout his creation.

I’m really looking forward to this! I’m an 80s kid, so this should be a treat.

Last week I finished

We Have Always Lived in the Castle Courtney Crumrin Vol.1 Hawkeye, Vol. 1 The Ocean at the End of the Lane

Last week I posted

July Book Haul
Egads! A Big Book! – Top 7 Most Intimidating Books

 

This post is linked at “It’s Monday, what are you reading?”, a weekly meme that tells us what the blogosphere is currently reading. It is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

6 thoughts on “Current Reads: Moon Called

  1. i have read all of that Patricia Briggs series except the newest, Frost Burned, and Urban Fantasy is not a genre I read too much. Just give it a chance or maybe jump into book #2 if you can get it. I remember liking 2 better than the first. Enjoy your week reading.

    • Let’s see if I have the strength to try the second book after the first one. At least the setting will be established so the writer doesn’t have to explain so much about how the world works or about the characters’ pasts. Thanks for the tip!

  2. I still haven’t tried the Mercy Thompson series, but I hope it will pick up.

    And yay for Ready Player One, I thoroughly adore that book, so I hope you will, too :)

    Also, what did you think about The Ocean at the End of the Lane?

    Happy reading!

    • I really liked the first half of The Ocean, but the latter half didn’t work for me that well for some reason. I know that many people absolutely adored this book. I don’t know if my feelings had to do with my mood or something, since the first half was read on one day and the rest another.

      Anyway, based on the first half I’d have given the book 4 stars, but after the second half, 3 – 3,5 stars. I liked the book, but the beginning was more captivating for me.

Leave a Reply

