July Book Haul (2013)

I don’t know whether to call this a June or July book haul, since I bought most of these books last month… But anyway, here you go, a book haul! The links take you to GoodReads.

July Book Haul 1
The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman
Courtney Crumrin, vol.1: The Night Things by Ted Naifeh
Doll Bones by Holly Black

You might have seen these books around my blog, since I’ve already read them all. I have to say that the new colored hardcover editions of the Courtney Crumrin graphic novels are SO beautiful. I will just have to buy all the volumes although I own all the paperback black-and-white editions!

July Book Haul 2
A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness
Daughter of Hounds, Murder of Angels and Low Red Moon
by Caitlín R. Kiernan

Misty over at The Book Rat often buys books from Better World Books. It made me interested, so I looked into them, and saw that they had free shipping to my country! After a bit of browsing, I was more than happy to find out that they had a lot of Caitlín R. Kiernan’s books in stock. She is such a hard author to find in book stores in Finland, and my library doesn’t carry her. I immediately ordered all the books by her I could find (that I hadn’t read). If I remember correctly, they were all less than 3 dollars! I went ahead and also bought The Discovery of Witches at the same price, since I’ve heard good things about it and it was a hardcover to boot!

The only trouble I had was that the shipping had damaged the cover of Murder of Angels, which was sold in “Like New” condition, so it arrived looking more battered than the other “Very Good”-labeled books. The books were in plastic wrapping, not in a box. But hey, I’m not complaining. It still doesn’t look too bad for a used book.

Night Creatures
Burn Bright, Angel Arias and Shine Light by Marianne de Pierres

I also picked up the Night Creatures trilogy for my Kindle, since the whole series was available for free on Amazon. I don’t know much about the books, but I thought it would be better to go ahead and order them all now in case I enjoy the first book.

Have you read any of these? Or have you bought something exciting lately yourself? Let me know in the comments.

This haul is linked at the weekly haul memes Stacking the Shelves, hosted by Tynga’s Reviews, and Showcase Sunday, hosted by Books, Biscuits, and Tea.

6 thoughts on “July Book Haul (2013)

Leave a Reply

