Egads! A Big Book!

We all have books that we kinda sorta want to read, but for some reason or other are intimidated to pick up. I gathered some of those scary books into one list. I realize that it is a bit ridiculous that I am intimidated by some of these books because they are ”big”, while at the same time I read George R.R. Martin’s novels… But for some reason big epic fantasy books have just never intimidated me!

Maija’s Top 7 Most Intimidating Books

Top10Intimidation_1
Intimidation factor #1:
New author to me, writes big books

1. Doomsday Book by Connie Willis
2. Gormenghast by Mervyn Peake
3. Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson

Top10Intimidation_2
Intimidation factor #2:
Authors whose other works I like, but am not certain about some books

4. The Left Hand of Darkness (or any science fiction book) by Ursula K. Le Guin
5. Les Misérables by Victor Hugo

Top10Intimidation_3
Intimidation factor #3:
Hyped books that I’ve bought but not yet read for fear that I won’t like them

6. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
7. Divergent by Veronica Roth

What are you intimidated by in books? Is there one in my list that I should definitely pick up as soon as possible?

 

This post is linked at “Top Ten Tuesday”, a weekly book list meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish.

4 thoughts on “Egads! A Big Book!

  1. Yes, I can definitely see how Divergent is intimidating for you. Everyone loves it and what if you’re the only one who doesn’t?
    Great list & thanks for stopping by my TTT! (:

    • I put Divergent on my Summer TBR list and I do intend to pick it up and finally read it this summer… Doesn’t stop me from still being intimidated by it! :D

  2. I was really afraid of The Night Circus and of Divergent, but I got over it and they turned out to be 2 of my favorite books ever! Sometimes the hype is right and a book really is just that good. I get the intimidation though!
    I haven’t heard of your first 3 picks, but I remember Le Guin’s Earthsee books from when I was younger. I kind of had my problems with them though…
    Les Misérables intimidates me too. Any Victor Hugo book, actually. I feel like I should read them in French but I know my French isn’t really good enough for that anymore…
    Thanks so much for stopping by my list :)

    • I’ve read the EarthSea books a long time ago and remember liking them, so I would like to try her scifi works. I’m just very intimidated by scifi…

      I did read the Hunchback of Notre Dame by Hugo, and while I did end up loving the book because of the second half, the first half was SUCH a drag. Hugo liked to go off on in-depth architectural essays… That is why Les Misérables is so scary, because the book is so much bigger and I’m not sure I want to be exposed to more of those essays!

      I have studied French, too, for five years, but that was a long time ago and I don’t think my French would be good enough for the older vocabulary likely used in Les Mis.

Leave a Reply

