Current Reads: The Ocean at the End of the Lane

Like I wrote about in my last post, I’ve been doing an abbreviated version of Nerdintranslation‘s 30 Day Reading Challenge, where I’m trying to read a 100 pages a day for 23 days (I started the challenge a week late). Here is my progress so far!

I am currently reading

The Ocean at the End of the Lane
The Ocean at the End of the Lane
By: Neil Gaiman
From: My bookshelf

o(^▽^)o A new book by Neil Gaiman dance! I will start reading this today. I’ve already read a two chapter preview that I got with a free short story of Gaiman’s that I downloaded for my Kindle, and from that snippet I can say that I enjoy the almost storybook-like narrative focused on small village life with a bit of the supernatural thrown in, and can’t wait to keep reading and find out what the more fantastical elements of the book are about.

I’m also continuing with A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin.

I just finished reading

Doll Bones The Restaurant at the End of the Universe We Have Always Lived in the Castle
In the past week I’ve finished three books for the challenge. Doll Bones by Holly Black was an enjoyable middle-grade coming-of-age story with some horror/creepy tones thrown in, about three friends going on a quest to bury a doll. The Restaurant at the End of the Universe by Douglas Adams was a re-read of the second book in Adams’ hilarious sci-fi adventure series – my favorite part of this book was the Total Perspective Vortex. And earlier today I finished We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson, a wonderfully creepy gothic horror novel filled with the great atmosphere that is always guaranteed by Jackson’s writing.

I previously posted

My 23 Day Reading Challenge
The Best Books of 2013 So Far
My Summer Reading List

 

This post is linked at “It’s Monday, what are you reading?”, a weekly meme that tells us what the blogosphere is currently reading. It is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

15 thoughts on “Current Reads: The Ocean at the End of the Lane

  1. I haven’t read Neil Gaiman yet (yes, one of those few) but I have this on my wishlist and entered a giveaway for it to give him a go. I had to check your We Have Always Lived in the Castle to see if the author was THE Shirley Jackson, the famous author who wrote The Lottery (I read it in high school and that was a loooong time ago). So anyway, that has to be good reading!

    • My favorite work of Gaiman’s is his Sandman graphic novel series.

      And yep, it sure is that Shirley Jackson! I really enjoy her writing. I actually hadn’t even heard of The Lottery before I read The Haunting of Hill House by Jackson, but I guess The Lottery is widely read in high schools in other countries. :) I’ve read The Lottery now, though!

  2. I haven’t read Gaiman’s Sandman graphic novels, but I loved the audio book Anansi Boys, and adore both Star Dust and Neverwhere. His short story anthologies are fantastic too, and then The Graveyard Book is one of my favourites too. I don’t think there’s an author signing segment at the author event I’m going to next month, but that won’t stop me bringing my book along on the off chance that he does do some signing!

    • Neverwhere is my favorite of Gaiman’s novels. Graveyard Book and Stardust are also lovely, but I didn’t really love American Gods. I should re-read it to see what I think a second time around…

      I have three books signed by Neil Gaiman! Stardust, Dream Hunters and my favorite Sandman volume, Season of Mists. I have always gone to see him when I’ve heard that he’s in Finland! Have fun in the event!

  3. I forgot about Restaurant at the End of the Universe, thank you for reminding me of those. I think it may be time for a re- read. :)

Leave a Reply

