The Best Books of 2013 So Far

I took a look back at what I’ve read so far this year, and compiled this list of six books that I enjoyed the most. These are all books that I’ve rated 4 or 5 stars in GoodReads. I decided to divide them into a couple of subcategories. The images take you to the book’s GoodReads page.

Favorite Fantasy Books

Throne of the Crescent Moon Rivers Of London
Throne of the Crescent Moon by Saladin Ahmed
Such a fun & exciting sword and sorcery fantasy adventure set in an Arabian-style world!

Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch
Wizards and vengeful spirits in modern day London. I have a weakness for wizard detectives, so this was right up my alley.

Favorite Classics

The Hunchback of Notre Dame Peter Pan
The Hunchback of Notre Dame by Victor Hugo
Love and lust in medieval Paris – the book turned from slightly boring to excellent at the halfway mark. Great characters!

Peter Pan by J. M. Barrie
This charming and witty, but also dark children’s story just swept me away and had me smiling for most of the book. I loved Barrie’s narrator voice.

Favorite Re-Reads

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy Sorcery & Cecelia
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
Never disappoints, I always have fun reading this, and know many lines in the beginning by heart.

Sorcery and Cecelia: or The Enchanted Chocolate Pot by Patricia C. Wrede and Caroline Stevermer
Charming adventure in magical Regency England, written in letter form. I loved Kate and the Marquis of Schofield!

Favorite Graphic Novels

Friends with Boys Yotsuba 11
Friends with Boys by Faith Erin Hicks
This is a contemporary coming of age story with ghosts, filled with lovely artwork by Hicks.

Yotsuba 11 by Kiyohiko Azuma
Yotsuba never fails to make me laugh. I love reading about the little girl’s adventures amid the wonders of daily life.

 

This post is linked at “Top Ten Tuesday”, a weekly book list meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish.

11 thoughts on “The Best Books of 2013 So Far

    • Thanks! It’s a really lovely YA book, full of great characters and adventure, and it’s a quick read. I recommend it, especially if you like Regency England!

Leave a Reply

