Books with Gorgeous Covers

We all know there are some absolutely gorgeous book covers out there, and here’s my attempt to list some of them. The list is limited to books I have read (with one cheat), or else I wouldn’t even know where to begin! Whenever I could find the information, I have linked to the illustrator’s or designer’s web page. The cover images themselves lead to GoodReads.

Top 10 Gorgeous Covers of Books I’ve Read

Boneshaker Mistborn: The Final Empire
1. Boneshaker by Cherie Priest
Illustration by Jon Foster – Cover design by Jamie Stafford-Hill

2. Mistborn: The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson
Illustration by Jon Foster

Snake Agent Lohikaarmeen Prinsessa
3. Snake Agent by Liz Williams
Illustration by Jon Foster

4. Dealing With Dragons (the Finnish edition) by Patricia C. Wrede
Illustration by Petteri Tikkanen – Cover Design by Sami Saramäki

Bloodshot Frankenstein
5. Bloodshot by Cherie Priest

6. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
Penguin English Library edition – Cover design by Coralie Bickford-Smith

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell Horns
7. Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke
Cover design by William Webb

8. Horns by Joe Hill
Gollancz edition

Wonder Boys Stormdancer
9. Wonder Boys by Michael Chabon
Cover design & illustration by Richard Bravery

10. Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff
Illustration by Jason Chan

A total of three covers by Jon Foster made their way on this list! I just happen to really like his illustration style. I was actually pretty surprised that he had drawn all those book covers that sprang into my mind first! Then there’s Lohikäärmeen prinsessa, the Finnish version of Dealing with Dragons. I love both the cover design and the illustration!

Bloodshot has a really stunning combination of blue and red, it’s even more striking in person – I’m sad that I couldn’t find out the illustrator’s name! The Penguin English Library has many pretty cover editions of classic literature. Frankenstein is one of my favorites from the line.

I love the simplicity of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell‘s cover, while I also love the abundance of elements on the cover of Horns. Wonder Boys has a great cover design built up of quotes from the book, and Stormdancer is one of many gorgeous covers by the very talented illustrator Jason Chan. Stormdancer is my cheat entry, since I haven’t actually read the book… I just couldn’t leave a list without a Chan cover!

What did you think of my list, and what are your favorite covers? Do you like simplistic over elaborate? Do you prefer covers using photography, illustration or perhaps typography? Let me know!

 

This post is linked at “Top Ten Tuesday”, a weekly book list meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish.

11 thoughts on “Books with Gorgeous Covers

    • It took me a while to get into Mistborn when I was reading it – I think it was after the halfway point that I was more drawn into the plot! I’m going to continue with the series sometime, though, and the cover is gorgeous. You’re right, it portrays a more active scene than book covers in general. Thanks for visiting!

    • I like all type of covers, too, but most often I tend to gravitate towards gorgeous illustrations. But I do love clean and simple graphic design as well! It’s all good.

    • Thanks! I chose this list purely on cover appeal, so I might have not been a very big fan of the book itself.

      For example I didn’t like Bloodshot, so decided to get rid of my copy although I *loved* the cover. I really liked e.g. Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, and Frankenstein. If you haven’t read them, give them a try if you are so inclined/have the time!

Leave a Reply

