Current Reads: Veronica Britton

I am currently reading

Veronica Britton
Veronica Britton – Chronic Detective

By: N.P. Boyce
From: My bookshelf

Do you know how much damage a gun in the wrong place can do to history?

Veronica Britton lives in Victorian London – but she can go wherever and whenever adventure takes her. Smart, efficient and (almost) always discreet, Veronica is the best chronic detective in the city.

Working alonside her apprentice, the brilliant and time-sensitive Gabrielle, she navigates the timepools – corridors that join the various time zones of London – from the founding of the city to a bleak vision of the future, via a mysterious mansion with an indoor weather system and an extremely charismatic cat. Veronica uncovers a series of mysteries that ends in a fiendish conspiracy to control time itself: a plan that threatens not just the city she loves, but the whole world.

I picked this book up on a whim at the bookstore, based on the synopsis. It has time travel and takes place in London! Also the mention of a mansion and a cat caught my interest. So, what’s it like? So far there hasn’t been any mysterious mansions or charismatic cats, and Veronica’s detective methods haven’t been very discreet contrary to what the synopsis states, but the book is interesting and very easy to read. The book appears to be N.P. Boyle’s first novel – the short introduction in the beginning says that he’s written short stories before.

I thought that the book would be told solely from Veronica’s perspective, so I was a bit surprised to find that the point of view jumped between different characters in a way that sometimes reminded me of a TV series. This is neither here nor there, but I do have trouble with the character Gabrielle, Veronica’s apprentice. Everyone else in the book was introduced with a short description that brought their character and personality alive in a few words. But there was no such thing for Gabrielle! The character just suddenly appeared with no description of her appearance or personality, and so she feels pretty distant to me. My weird mind just imagines her looking like Gabrielle from Xena…

I’m also continuing with The Hunchback of Notre-Dame, where Esmeralda has lately come across some pretty hard times. And I miss Clopin, whom we haven’t seen since the beginning of the book. I hope he’ll make a reappearance soon!

I just finished reading

@ Goodreads
Wonder Boys

By: Michael Chabon
From: My bookshelf

This literary fiction version of a screwball comedy had me entertained until the halfway point, where it lost some of its momentum, and at the same time, me. In the beginning, the writing captured me and whisked me away with ease into the quirky happenstances of the book. But when the story lost something in its pacing, I began to get fed up with the annoying main character, and wasn’t interested in what happened any more. As far as favorite characters go, that would have to be James Leer, the student morbidly fascinated with actors died by suicide. I give the book 2 stars, with a note that many other readers would probably enjoy this novel much more than me. As a side note, I find the cover absolutely gorgeous.

Next Up

I am slowly working through the unread books in my shelves (I can’t buy any more until I’ve gone through at least half of them). I think next I’m in the mood for a YA novel.

The unread YA novels I have on my shelves are Divergent by Veronica Roth, Little Brother by Cory Doctorow, Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger and The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly.

Which one would you recommend? I’ve previously received one vote for The Book of Lost Things on this blog.

 

This post is linked at “It’s Monday, what are you reading?”, a weekly meme that tells us what the blogosphere is currently reading. It is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

8 thoughts on “Current Reads: Veronica Britton

  1. Your reading choices all sound good! Have you read any Gail Carriger before? I liked Etiquette & Espionage, but not as much as her adult series, The Parasol Protectorate. I also have Divergent and The Book of Lost Things on my shelf waiting to be read. I’ve read something else by John Connolly (The Gates) and it was really good. Honestly, I don’t think you can go wrong with any of these! If it was my choice to make, though, I’d probably start with the Connolly book. Good luck!

    • I’ve read The Parasol Protectorate series, and I reeaaally liked it (Lord Akeldama & Professor Lyall are my favorites)! That’s part of the reason why I bought Etiquette & Espionage.

      I’ve heard a lot of good things about The Book of Lost Things, so it just might be my next read. Thanks for the tips!

    • Okay, thanks! That’s 2 votes Divergent, 2 for The Book of Lost Things, so far. I think I’ll read the first page of both and see which one propels me forward.

Leave a Reply

