Light & Fun Fantasy Reads

Spring is finally here and summer is on it’s way, and so is the need to find something light & fun to read in the sun. I’m in the middle of some heavier books right now (Hunchback, I’m looking at you!), so that only adds to the craving. While epic fantasy tomes are wonderful, sometimes something a bit shorter is in order. Here are a few suggestions for those breezy fantasy & scifi reads!

Top10LightReads_1

Maija’s Top 10 Light & Fun Fantasy Reads (+ 1 Scifi!)

1. Howl’s Moving Castle
by Diana Wynne Jones
Young Sophie Hatter gets turned into an old woman and soon finds herself inside the infamous wizard Howl’s very dirty moving castle, where she promptly hires herself as a cleaning lady. This is one of my favorite books. It has a lovely fairy tale-ish atmosphere, and Sophie and Howl are the right characters to spend a nice summer day with. I just love Howl and all his drama. :D Quaranteed to lift your spirits.

2. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
by Douglas Adams
When Earth gets demolished to make way for a galactic freeway, Arthur Dent is saved from certain death by his old-turns-out-he’s-an-alien-friend Ford Prefect, who gets them a lift in a spaceship. So begins a hilarious, random adventure filled with outrageous characters. This book is a good pick if you crave something fun!

3. Neverwhere
by Neil Gaiman
Richard Mayhew moves to London, rescues a girl, and gets mixed up in the schemes and adventures of the denizens of London Below. If you want to read an exciting fantasy adventure filled with great characters and set in the modern world, Neverwhere is your choice! I’ve re-read this book so many times I’ve lost count.

4. The Wee Free Men
by Terry Pratchett
Or almost anything by Terry Pratchett, really. The Wee Free Men starts Pratchett’s Discworld YA series featuring the young witch, Tiffany Aching. In this first book, Tiffany allies herself with the Nac Mac Feegle (a clan of six-inch-high blue men) to protect her home from the monsters of Fairyland.

5. The Parasol Protectorate series
by Gail Carriger
Containing light-hearted adventures with a dash of romance, this steampunk series is great for a light summer read! I think the series improves after the first book, Soulless, which I thought had some little hitches in the writing. This series has a lot of quirky & awesome characters in it!

Top10LightReads_2

6. The Courtney Crumrin graphic novels
by Ted Naifeh
Why not read some graphic novels this spring? Courtney Crumrin & The Night Things begins the story of Courtney, whose family moves in with his great uncle Aloysius, who happens to be a warlock. I love both Courtney and Aloysius! The first graphic novel contains a couple of short stories, but the rest of the volumes contain one story arc each.

7. Sorcery and Cecelia: or The Enchanted Chocolate Pot
by Patricia C. Wrede & Caroline Stevermer
This is a fun novel written in letter form! It takes place in Jane Austen-ish alternate history England, where magic is real. Two cousins are sending letters to each other, one from the country, and the other from her first season in London. They both get caught up in magical shenanigans. Very charming! The London side of the story was my favorite.

8. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
by J.K. Rowling
Harry Potter’s first year in wizarding school is pretty light-hearted and innocent compared to his future troubles. I love rereading this book in the summer!

9. The Belgariad
by David Eddings
Crave for some old school Chosen One farmboy fantasy? The Belgariad is a five part series starting with Pawn of Prophecy, which I remember as quick-moving and adventure-filled. Disclaimer! I haven’t read the books since junior high, but I did enjoy them at the time.

10. The Scott Pilgrim graphic novel series
by Bryan Lee O’Malley
Not what you would normally call fantasy, Scott Pilgrim’s life certainly isn’t any ordinary life either! With evil ex-boyfriends to fight and subspace highways going through people’s minds, I think Scott doesn’t feel out of place on this list. This six-part graphic novel series tackles some deeper themes amid all the dating & fighting, but is quick to read and filled with quirky humour.

That was my list of light & fun speculative fiction books. What are your favorite light reads? Leave me a comment and let me know!

 

This post is linked at “Top Ten Tuesday”, a weekly book list meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish.

8 thoughts on “Light & Fun Fantasy Reads

  1. Oh, fun! I picked up a copy of Sorcery & Cecelia just recently — really looking forward to reading it. And I’ve seen a few people who really praise Howl’s Moving Castle, so I think I’ll need to check that one out too. Great list!

  2. Although I haven’t read that much fantasy yet, I like the genre. The Parasol Protectorate series sounds like something I would enjoy reading, I might pick it up this summer! I was also thinking of putting Harry Potter (book 1-3) on the list, but I wasn’t sure if I would call it light or not. However they are really ‘cozy’ reads I would say.

    • Yes, I had a bit of trouble deciding what counted as a light read, but decided to include those cozy reads. :) And the first HP books are very quick reads, as well.

Leave a Reply

