Current Reads: Notre-Dame de Paris

I am currently reading

The Hunchback of Notre-Dame
Notre-Dame de Paris

(or The Hunchback of Notre-Dame)

By: Victor Hugo
From: my Kindle (via Project Gutenberg)

In the vaulted Gothic towers of Notre-Dame lives Quasimodo, the hunchbacked bellringer. Mocked and shunned for his appearance, he is pitied only by Esmerelda, a beautiful gypsy dancer to whom he becomes completely devoted. Esmeralda, however, has also attracted the attention of the sinister archdeacon Claude Frollo…
– Description from GoodReads

Now it’s time for historical adventure & shenanigans with the Hunchback of Notre-Dame! I have only ever seen the Disney animated version of the story, so I’m very interested to find out how the story goes.

I’m 45% through the book, and not much has yet happened. So far Clopin, Frollo, Quasimodo and Esmeralda have been introduced, and Phoebus has been mentioned once by name. I really hope the story will pick up soon, since it does seem interesting. So far we’ve been repeatedly sidetracked by Victor Hugo’s essays on architecture. Especially wonderful was the chapter where he went through almost every single building that you could see if you looked at Paris from the top of Notre-Dame in the Middle Ages… whew. He also talked a lot about how many buildings have, in his opinion, been ruined with changes in his day!

I hope the architectural essays are now out of Victor’s system and the rest of the book focuses on the characters and their story!

Next up

Veronica Britton
Veronica Britton – Chronic Detective

By: N.P. Boyce
From: My bookshelf

I hadn’t ever heard of this book before I picked it up in the bookstore last Friday. It just sounded like so much fun with a time travelling ”chronic detective” lady from Victorian London. It seems to be the author’s first novel.

I couldn’t resist reading a few chapters from the beginning. I wasn’t quite sure what I thought of it – half of me was intrigued and half of me had the feeling that something was missing from the narrative. I’ll talk more about it next week!

Last week I posted

Fan Art Friday: The Three Musketeers
Wherein I featured gingerhaze’s wonderful school group project re-imagining.

 

This post is linked at “It’s Monday, what are you reading?”, a weekly meme that tells us what the blogosphere is currently reading. It is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

Leave a Reply

