Current Reads

I’ve been quiet for a while, ’cause I haven’t really been sure how to do this book blogging thing my way. Pretty quickly after starting to blog, I found out that I’m not much of a review writer. I just started to stress too much about writing a review after finishing a book!

So I decided to be more casual about this, have more fun. I’ll gush about my favorite stories and characters in a more “inofficial” way than reviews. I’ll take part in the community with challenges and memes. I also want to do cover art & artist features, since I’m an illustrator myself and pretty into that sort of stuff. Book hauls and monthly recaps are still on the list! I’ll just take it slow and find out what I like to write.

So, enough about that, and let’s get to business.

I just finished reading

Rivers Of London

Rivers of London
(Known as Midnight Riot in the US)
By: Ben Aaronovitch
From: Borrowed from my sister

There’s something festering in the heart of the city, a malicious, vengeful spirit that’s taking ordinary Londoners and twisting them into something awful; mannequins to act out its drama of violence and despair.

One night, probationary constable Peter Grant takes a witness statement from a man who is already dead. Detective Chief Inspector Thomas Nightingale, the last wizard in England, finds Peter’s ability to talk to ghosts interesting, and takes him on as an assistant.

Rivers of London is a very likable modern fantasy detective novel. The magical and mythical elements work well with the depictions of everyday police work. Peter Grant is a nice main character, but the brightest star for me was Inspector Nightingale. This sharply dressed wizard, who minds if policemen shelf books upside down at a crime scene, was my favorite from the second he appeared on the page. Plus, come on, his name is awesome!

There were two main investigative storylines going on in the book, one focusing on the ongoing police investigation with the vengeful spirit, and the other on more wizardly duties with the rivers of London. These storylines remained a bit too separate, and I would have liked them to tie together more. These dual storylines are also the reason why both the UK and US versions of the book’s title work well with the contents of the novel.

Some of the themes and elements in this book were right up my alley (I can’t specify without being spoilery). I literally exclaimed aloud and jumped a bit on my chair when a specific story element in the murder investigation dawned on me, and that is a sign of an entertaining read for me.

I would definitely check this book out if you are into wizards, modern fantasy, detective novels, and London.

Next Up

Teemestarin kirja
Teemestarin kirja / Memory of Water
By: Emmi Itäranta
From: The library

My next read will be a Finnish dystopian book about a world running out of water, with a protagonist who specializes in tea ceremony. Harper Collins has bought the World English rights for the book, and it will be published in spring 2014 under the name Memory of Water (the word-for-word translation from Finnish would be The Book of the Tea Master). The author has written the English version herself.

I’m very interested in this book because I’ve heard so much about it. It was published after it won a publisher’s fantasy and science fiction writing contest. It has also won one Finnish literary award, and is currently in the running for another. Memory of Water is Emmi Itäranta’s debut novel.

 

This post is linked at “It’s Monday, what are you reading?”, a weekly meme that tells us what the blogosphere is currently reading. It is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

Leave a Reply

