November Wrap-Up

The past month was a bit slower than usual on the reading front, but let’s take a look at what I finished.

Speculative Fiction

Dark Fever
The Stars My Destination
By Alfred Bester
Review here

Rot & Ruin
by Jonathan Maberry
First published in 2010

In this YA novel, 15 year old Benny Imura lives in a world after a zombie outbreak. His parents died on First Night of the outbreak, and Benny lives with his zombie hunting big brother Tommy. Benny has come to the age where he will need to choose a profession, and after trying out for different jobs, he decides to become a zombie hunter under the tutelage of his brother.

I loved how this book described the world and the mentality of the people living in the world after a zombie apocalypse. Zombies are just around the fence, but inside the fence there is the relative safety of the village, where people can pretend to forget. This psychological side that focused on how different people react to zombies, as well as the question of humanity, is the strongest aspect of this novel. When Tommy trains Benny, he teaches his little brother not only to fight, but to think outside the confines of what he’s used to. There’s also plenty of zombie action and gore to satisfy that zombie reader need!

Darkfever
(Fever, #1)
by Karen Marie Moning
First published in 2006

In this first book of the adult urban fantasy series “Fever”, MacKayla Lane travels to Ireland to investigate her sister’s murder. She soon finds out that she is a sidhe-seer (i.e. she can see the Fae).

I picked up this book from my local library, because I remembered that a lot of people seemed to be addicted to this series. While I didn’t find this first book extraordinary, I did find it an okay piece of light reading. I can certainly understand the appeal – the writing is quick-paced and the reading effortless, and the main story did hold my interest. I wasn’t completely into the characters, and I was waiting for more of a hook to pull me in. With that said, I’ll definitely be picking up the next volume when the mood for something light to read strikes me. It might be that the second book manages to suck me in better.

Graphic Novels

A Bride's Story, vol. 2
A Bride’s Story, Vol. 1 & Vol. 2
by Kaoru Mori
First published in 2009 & 2010

This manga series set in the 19th century Silk Road, tells the story of Amir, a young woman from a nomadic tribe who is married to a boy eight years her junior. The story focuses on Amir learning to live with her new tribe and husband. The manga is not very plot driven, but instead focuses on quiet everyday situations, with some bigger story elements thrown in.

Kaoru Mori’s beautiful detailed artwork shines especially in the depiction of the clothes and embroidery. It is Mori’s artwork, clearly lovingly drafted and meticulously researched, that is the main attraction in this manga.

2 thoughts on “November Wrap-Up

  1. Everyone seems to be reading Karen Moning. I really want to read Jonathan Mayberry’s series. It sounds like my kind of book, with the psychological aspect.

    • Yeah, I’ve seen Moning’s series everywhere lately! I wasn’t really blown away by the first book, but as some light fluff reading it worked. But I can totally recommend Jonathan Mayberry’s zombie series!

Leave a Reply

