It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

I just finished a book last night, so I’m not actually in the middle of reading anything right now. Instead I think I’ll introduce you to the books that I’m currently deciding between – perhaps you can help me choose?
The covers link to GoodRead as usual.

I am currently deciding between…


Ursula K. Le Guin: The Left Hand of Darkness
Ian M. Banks: The Player of Games
H.G. Wells: Maailmojen sota (War of the Worlds)

All these books are library books that I borrowed in order to finish my Sci-Fi Challenge this year. Now I’m having a hard time deciding which one of them to pick up first. I liked the EarthSea series by Le Guin, I have never read any Banks, and Wells’s book is, of course, a classic among alien invasion books. Which one do you think I should read first?

Last week I read


Darkfever (Fever #1)
By: Karen Marie Moning
From: The library

In this first book of the adult urban fantasy series “Fever”, MacKayla Lane travels to Ireland to investigate her sister’s murder. She soon finds out that she is a sidhe-seer (i.e. she can see the Fae). I’d noticed that a lot of people around GoodReads and the blogosphere were addicted to this series, so I decided to try it out. It was an okay piece of fluff – a quick read with an interesting main story. There were some erotic scenes – though I’m not that fond of those in my books, they weren’t ridiculous like they can be if written badly. I’ll read the second volume when I next crave for something quick & light to read, I guess.

Last week I posted

My November Book Haul

 

“It’s Monday, what are you reading?” is a weekly reading meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

7 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

    • Reading Banks is me branching out as well. I haven’t read any books by him before, but many people recommended The Player of Games.

      My 2012 Science Fiction Challenge is all about trying to get me to sample more sci-fi to see if I like it. I’m more of a fantasy girl, myself.

    • I’ll definitely continue with the Fever series to see if it can get me hooked in the later volumes. I’m just not in a big hurry to pick the next one up immediately. Thanks for popping by!

Leave a Reply

